Cork West (Dáil Éireann Constituency)

Cork West (Dáil Éireann Constituency)

Cork West was a parliamentary constituency represented in Dáil Éireann, the lower house of the Irish parliament or Oireachtas from 1923 to 1961. The constituency elected 5 (and later 3) deputies (Teachtaí Dála, commonly known in English as TDs) to the Dáil, using the single transferable vote form of proportional representation (PR-STV).

Read more about Cork West (Dáil Éireann Constituency):  History, Boundaries, TDs

Other articles related to "cork":

Cork West (Dáil Éireann Constituency) - Elections - 1923 General Election
1923 general election CorkWest Party Candidate 1st Pref Seat Count Cumann na nGaedheal Cornelius Connolly 4,430 14.9 6 ... Republican Sen Buckley 3,237 10.9 ... Cumann na nGaedheal Robert Kelly 2,469 8.3 Republican Maurice Donegan 1,741 5.9 Farmers'Party Michael Scully 1,460 4.9 Independent Daniel O'Leary 1,427 4.8 Cumann na nGaedheal Daniel ...

Famous quotes containing the words cork and/or west:

    When Prince William [later King William IV] was at Cork in 1787, an old officer ... dined with him, and happened to say he had been forty years in the service. The Prince with a sneer asked what he had learnt in those forty years. The old gentleman justly offended, said, “Sir, I have learnt, when I am no longer fit to fight, to make as good a retreat as I can” —and walked out of the room.
    Horace Walpole (1717–1797)

    Fiction reveals truths that reality obscures.
    —Jessamyn West (1902–1984)