Codex Theodosianus

The Codex Theodosianus was a compilation of the laws of the Roman Empire under the Christian emperors since 312. A commission was established by Theodosius II in 429 and the compilation was published in the eastern half of the Roman Empire in 438. One year later, it was also introduced in the West by the emperor Valentinian III.

Read more about Codex Theodosianus:  History, Context of Code, Sources

Other articles related to "codex theodosianus, codex":

Byzantine Law - Early Byzantine Period - Codex Theodosianus
... In 438, Emperor Theodosius published the Codex Theodosianus, which consisted of 16 books, containing all standing laws from the age of Constantine I till then ...
Codex Theodosianus - Sources
... The first five books of the surviving Codex draw largely from two other manuscripts ... text of the respective part of the original codex ... The latter part of the Codex, books 6-16, drew largely from two texts as well ...