Cincinnati Bengals

The Cincinnati Bengals are a professional American football franchise based in Cincinnati, Ohio. They are currently members of the North Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). Their home stadium is Paul Brown Stadium in downtown Cincinnati. Their current head coach is Marvin Lewis. Their primary colors are orange and black. Their chief rivals are the Baltimore Ravens, Cleveland Browns and Pittsburgh Steelers.

The Bengals were founded in 1966 as a member of the American Football League (AFL) by former Cleveland Browns head coach Paul Brown. Brown was the Bengals' head coach from their inception to 1975. After being dismissed as the Browns' head coach by Art Modell (who had purchased majority interest in the team in 1961) in January 1963, Brown had shown interest in establishing another NFL franchise in Ohio and looked at both Cincinnati and Columbus. He ultimately chose the former when a deal between the city, Hamilton County, and Major League Baseball's Cincinnati Reds (who were seeking a replacement for the obsolete Crosley Field) was struck that resulted in an agreement to build a multipurpose stadium which could host both baseball and football games. Due to the impending merger of the American Football League and the National Football League, which was due to take full effect in the 1970 season, Brown agreed to join the AFL as its tenth and final franchise. The Bengals, like other former AFL teams, were assigned to the AFC following the merger.

During the 1970s and 1980s, the Bengals were a perennial playoff contender and they won AFC championships in 1981 and 1988, but lost Super Bowls XVI and XXIII to the San Francisco 49ers. After Paul Brown's death in 1991, controlling interest in the team was inherited by his son, Mike Brown. Brown recently purchased shares of the team owned by the estate of co-founder Austin Knowlton and is now the majority owner of the Bengals franchise.

The 1990s and the 2000s were a period of great struggle. The Bengals had several head coaches and several of their top draft picks did not pan out. Mike Brown, the team's de facto general manager, was rated as among the worst team owners in American professional sports Compounding matters were off-field problems of several players, notably receiver Chris Henry, who was suspended several times during his short professional career and was actually released by the Bengals at one point, but was then re-signed for the 2009 season.

Read more about Cincinnati Bengals:  Franchise History, Logos and Uniforms, Mascots, Radio and Television, Chant

Other articles related to "cincinnati bengals, bengals, cincinnati, bengal":

Shafer Suggs - Professional Career - Cincinnati Bengals
... Suggs was traded to the Cincinnati Bengals during the 1980 season ... Suggs played the final four games for the Bengals with no starts ...
List Of Cincinnati Bengals Head Coaches
... This is a complete list of Cincinnati Bengals head coaches ... There have been 9 head coaches for the Cincinnati Bengals of the National Football League (NFL) ... The Bengals are a professional American football team based in Cincinnati, Ohio ...
Cincinnati Bengals - Chant
... is the name of a chant of support by fans of the Cincinnati Bengals, in use for over 30 years ... is "Who dey, who dey, who dey think gonna beat dem Bengals?" The answer screamed in unison, "Nobody!" Sometimes fans will instead shout "Who Dey!" to represent the entire cheer ... "Who Dey" is also the name of the team’s mascot, a Bengal tiger ...
List Of Florida Gators Football Players - American Football Conference - Jacksonville Jaguars
... Derrick Harvey, former NFL defensive end for the Cincinnati Bengals (2012), and formerly, the Jacksonville Jaguars (2008–2010) and the Denver Broncos (2011) Willie Jackson, former NFL wide receiver for the Jacksonville Jaguars (1995–1997), Cincinnati Bengals (1998–1999), New Orleans Saints (2000–2001), Atlanta Falcons (2002) and Washington Redskins (2002) Bobby McCray, former NFL defensive end for the Jacksonville Jaguars (2004–2007), New Orleans Saints (2008–2009) and Philadelphia Eagles (2010) Jeremy Mincey, current NFL defensive end for the Jacksonville Jaguars (2006– ) Mike Mularkey, current NFL head coach of the Jacksonville Jaguars former NFL head coach for the Buffalo Bills former NFL offensive coordinator for the Atlanta Falcons former NFL tight end for the Minnesota Vikings (1983–1987) and Pittsburgh Steelers (1988–1991) Reggie Nelson, current NFL safety for the Cincinnati Bengals (2010– ), and formerly, the Jacksonville Jaguars (2007–2010) Mike Pearson, former NFL offensive tackle for the Jacksonville Jaguars (2002–2005) Mike Peterson, current NFL middle linebacker for the Atlanta Falcons (2009– ), and formerly, the Indianapolis Colts (1999–2002) and Jacksonville Jaguars (2002–2008) Fred Taylor, former NFL Pro Bowl running back for the Jacksonville Jaguars (1998–2008) and New England Patriots (2009–2010) Dee Webb, former NFL cornerback for the Jacksonville Jaguars (2006). ...
Battle Of Ohio (NFL)
... The Bengals–Browns rivalry is a rivalry between the Cincinnati Bengals and Cleveland Browns ... With their September 16, 2012 win in Cincinnati, the Bengals extended their lead in the all-time series to 42-37 ... Cleveland (Northeast) and Cincinnati (Southwest) are on opposite corners of the Buckeye state, and essentially split Ohio ...