Christchurch (UK Parliament Constituency)

Christchurch (UK Parliament Constituency)

Christchurch is a parliamentary constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Centred on the town of Christchurch in Dorset, it elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.

The original Christchurch constituency, a parliamentary borough, existed from 1572 until 1918.

The constituency was re-created as a county constituency in 1983 from parts of the seat of Christchurch and Lymington, North Dorset & New Forest. It has generally been a strongly Conservative seat, with the exception of a 1993 by-election caused by the death of Robert Adley when it was won by Diana Maddock for the Liberal Democrats. The Conservatives regained the seat at the next general election in 1997, despite their landslide defeat nationally, and have retained it ever since.

Read more about Christchurch (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries, Constituency Profile

Other related articles:

Christchurch (UK Parliament Constituency) - Elections - Elections in The 1980s
... General Election 1987 Christchurch Party Candidate Votes % ±% Conservative Robert Adley 35,656 65.89 SDP–Liberal Alliance Miss H.J ... McKenzie 13,282 24.55 Labour Ms ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    The war shook down the Tsardom, an unspeakable abomination, and made an end of the new German Empire and the old Apostolic Austrian one. It ... gave votes and seats in Parliament to women.... But if society can be reformed only by the accidental results of horrible catastrophes ... what hope is there for mankind in them? The war was a horror and everybody is the worse for it.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)