Carmarthenshire County Council

Carmarthenshire County Council (Welsh: Cyngor Sir Gaerfyrddin) is the local authority for the county of Carmarthenshire, Wales, providing a range of services under the control of elected county councillors that include education, planning, transport, social services and public safety. The council is one of twenty-two unitary authorities that came into existence on 1 April 1996 under the provisions of the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. It took over local government functions previously provided by Carmarthen District, Dinefwr Borough and Llanelli Borough councils.

It is the second body of this name: the previous Carmarthenshire County Council was formed on 1 April 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888 and was abolished on 31 March 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972.

Carmarthenshire Sir Gaerfyrddin
- Total
- % Water
Ranked 3rd
2,395 km²
? %
County Town Carmarthen
Largest Town Llanelli
ISO 3166-2 GB-CMN
ONS code 00NU (ONS)
W06000010 (GSS)
- Total (2011)
- Density
Ranked 4th
Ranked 18th
75 / km²
Ethnicity 99.4% White
Welsh language
- Any skills
Ranked 3rd

Carmarthenshire County Council
Control TBA (council NOC)
  • Nick Ainger
  • Nia Griffith
  • Adam Price
  • Angela Burns (Con)
    (Carmarthen W. & S. Pembrokshire)
  • Keith Davies (Labour)
  • Rhodri Glyn Thomas (Plaid)
    (Carmarthen East & Dinefwr)
MEPs Wales

It has adopted the Cabinet system of running the county with currently the 30 independent and 11 Labour councillors being in the administration with the 30 Plaid Cymru councillors being the official opposition. All the scrutiny committee chairs are held by either Independent or Labour councillors. The Leader of the Council is Cllr. Meryl Gravelle, and the Chief Executive is Mark James. The council is based in County Hall in Carmarthen, the former Carmarthen Prison.

Read more about Carmarthenshire County CouncilElectoral Divisions

Other articles related to "carmarthenshire county council, county, carmarthenshire, council":

Carmarthenshire County Council - Electoral Divisions
... The county is divided into 58 electoral wards returning 74 councillors ... Most communities in Carmarthenshire have a community council ... For each ward, councillors are elected to sit on Carmarthenshire County Council ...
SA Postcode Area - Coverage
... Winch Wen, Winch Wen Industrial Estate City County of Swansea SA2 SWANSEA Brynmill, Cockett, Derwen Fawr, Dunvant, Fairwood, Glanmor, Hendrefoilan ...

Famous quotes containing the words council and/or county:

    Daughter to that good Earl, once President
    Of England’s Council and her Treasury,
    Who lived in both, unstain’d with gold or fee,
    And left them both, more in himself content.

    Till the sad breaking of that Parliament
    Broke him, as that dishonest victory
    At Chaeronea, fatal to liberty,
    Kill’d with report that old man eloquent;—
    John Milton (1608–1674)

    In the county there are thirty-seven churches
    and no butcher shop. This could be taken
    as a matter of all form and no content.
    Maxine Kumin (b. 1925)