Byron Shire

Byron Shire is a local government area located in the Northern Rivers region of New South Wales, Australia. The shire is located adjacent to the Tasman Sea about 50 kilometres (31 mi) south of the Queensland border. The shire, administered from the town of Mullumbimby, covers an area of 566.7 square kilometres (218.8 sq mi), and has existed as a local government entity since 1906. The shire was named for Cape Byron, itself named by Captain Cook in May 1770 in honour of Admiral John Byron.

The Mayor of Byron Shire Council is Cr. Simon Richardson, a member of the Greens.

Read more about Byron ShireHistory, Towns and Localities, Demographics

Other articles related to "shire, byron shire":

Rous County - Parishes Within This County
... approximate centre of each location is as follows Parish LGA Coordinates Babyil Kyogle Shire 28°37′54″S 152°45′04″E / 28.63167°S 152.75111°E / -28.63167 152.75111 (Babyil Parish) Ballina ...
Byron Shire - Council - Current Composition and Election Method
... Byron Shire Council is composed of nine Councillors, including the Mayor, for a fixed four year term of office ...

Famous quotes containing the word byron:

    Constancy ... that small change of love, which people exact so rigidly, receive in such conterfeit coin, and repay in baser metal.
    —George Gordon Noel Byron (1788–1824)