BUSA Football League - Competition Format

Competition Format

The top division in the BUSA football league structure is known as the Premier division, which is split into North and South sections, each consisting of six teams. Teams in each section of the Premier division play each other twice, resulting in each team playing a total of ten games between October and February. The top five teams from each section then progress to the BUSA Football Championship, along with the top two teams from the Scottish conference and the top team from each of the four English regional conferences to make up a 16-team tournament.

Below the Premier division, there are four regional conferences that feed into it: the Northern Conference, the Midlands Conference, the Western Conference and the South Eastern Conference. The Northern and Midlands conferences feed into the North section of the Premier division, while the Western and South Eastern conferences feed into the Premier South. There is also a Scottish Conference, but the teams in this division are ineligible for promotion to the Premier division. At the end of each league season, the top team in each region goes into a play-off for promotion with the top team from their partner region. The top team also progresses to the BUSA Football Championship, while the next two teams are entered into the Trophy.

Each regional conference then has a number of subsidiary divisions with varying numbers of teams depending on the number of teams associated with that region.

Read more about this topic:  BUSA Football League

Other articles related to "competition format":

Sailing At The 2012 Summer Olympics - Competition Format
... programme, excepting the women's Elliot 6m event, were fleet races and followed the same competition format ...

Famous quotes containing the word competition:

    Like many businessmen of genius he learned that free competition was wasteful, monopoly efficient. And so he simply set about achieving that efficient monopoly.
    Mario Puzo (b. 1920)