British Heavyweight Championship - Title Histories - British Wrestling Association 1930-1950

British Wrestling Association 1930-1950

Wrestler: Times: Date: Place: Notes:
Atholl Oakeley 1 1930 Won a series of matches to become the first champion.
Vacant 1935 After Oakeley retired due to injury
Bill Garnon 1 1935 London, England
M. Fazal 1 1937
Alan Muir 1 1938
Michael O'Leary 1 1939
Vacant Michael O'Leary was killed during the outbreak of the war, he died undefeated.
Bert Assirati 1 27/01/1945 Manchester Assirati had been claiming the title since 1940.
Vacant 1950 After Assirati left for India.

Disputed claims 1934-1938
Wrestler: Times: Date: Place: Notes:
Bill Garnon 1 1934 London Some claim Garnon's first reign began one year earlier
Douglas Clark 1 02/11/1934 Manchester
George Gregory 1 1938 Won by default when Clark no-shows scheduled defense.
Vacant Until Bert Assirati is recognised as champion

Read more about this topic:  British Heavyweight Championship, Title Histories

Famous quotes containing the words association, british and/or wrestling:

    ... a Christian has neither more nor less rights in our association than an atheist. When our platform becomes too narrow for people of all creeds and of no creeds, I myself cannot stand upon it.
    Susan B. Anthony (1820–1906)

    It’s simple: either you have discipline or you haven’t.
    Edmund H. North, British screenwriter, and Lewis Gilbert. Captain Shepard (Kenneth More)

    There are people who think that wrestling is an ignoble sport. Wrestling is not sport, it is a spectacle, and it is no more ignoble to attend a wrestled performance of suffering than a performance of the sorrows of Arnolphe or Andromaque.
    Roland Barthes (1915–1980)