Bolzaneto - Main Sights - Fortresses


The Fortresses called "I Due Fratelli" (The Two Brothers) were two fortresses said, referring to their position, "Major Brother" and "Minor Brother". They were built by the Savoy in the first half of nineteenth century, after the annexation of the Republic of Genoa to Kingdom of Sardinia, established by Congress of Vienna in 1814. The first fortress, shaped as a simple tower, was demolished in 1932 to create an antiaircraft position, the second one (Minor Brother) is still intact and overlooks the valley from the top of Mount Spino (622 m). The "Fort Diamante", on the top of mount bearing the same name, has been built in the 18th century, then completed and modified in the first half of the 19th century.

  • Fort called "Fratello Minore".

  • Fort Diamante.

Read more about this topic:  Bolzaneto, Main Sights

Other articles related to "fortresses":

Bavarian Army - Structure - Garrisons
... The bulk of the Bavarian army was housed in fortresses, secularised monasteries and former castles ... In 1838, Bavaria maintained seven fortresses, with another under construction Forchheim Ingolstadt Veste-Oberhaus Rosenberg ob Kronach Rothenberg bei Schnaittach Wülzburg Fortress Marienburg in Würzburg ... The fortresses of Germersheim, Ingolstadt and Ulm were de-fortified according to the Treaty of Versailles ...
Byeolmuban - Organization
... Jurchen tribal clans and took over their territory by building nine fortresses at Hamju region ... Fortresses were called Northeastern Nine Fortresses, and they are in Hamju (함주, 咸州), Yeongju (영주, 英州), Ungju (웅주, 雄州), Bokju ...
Petrovaradin Fortress - History - In The 19th and 20th Centuries
... During these years, the old fortresses at Belgrade, Osijek, Karlovac and Slavonski Brod which were built in the 17th century were razed because they had lost their military significance ... Colonel Dragoš Đelošević, who was responsible for the destruction of the fortresses decided to save Petrovaradin because it was, to him, far too ...