Baylor Law School - Notable Alumni

Notable Alumni

  • Roy Bass - Waco native and mayor of Lubbock from 1974-1978
  • Beau Boulter - lobbyist; former U.S. representatives from Texas' 13th congressional district
  • Tim Curry - District attorney of Tarrant County from 1972 to 2009
  • Bryan Hughes (1995) - Republican member of the Texas House of Representatives from Wood County
  • Colonel Leon Jaworski (1924) - Watergate Special Prosecutor; Senior Partner, Fulbright & Jaworski Houston, Texas; Served on the Warren Commission; President, American Bar Association (1971–1972); Chief of War Crimes detachment of the JAG Corps of the US Army (1944–1946); Treasurer and co-founder, Democrats for Reagan.
  • Marion Price Daniel (1932) - United States Senator (1953—1957); Governor of Texas (1957—1963); Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives (1943–1945); Justice, Texas Supreme Court (1971–1978).
  • Jack English Hightower (1951) - U.S. House of Representatives, (1975–1985)
  • Tryon D. Lewis, J.D. - Member of the Texas House of Representatives from Odessa; former 161st State Judicial District judge
  • Priscilla Owen, J.D. (1977) - Judge, U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals (2005–Present); Former Texas Supreme Court Justice (1994–2005).
  • Justice Rebecca Simmons- Justice, Fourth Court of Appeals, Texas
  • Robert R. (Bob) Poage (1924) – U.S. House of Representatives, (1937–1978)
  • Charles Wallace Barrow- Former Justice, Texas Supreme Court
  • Phillip Benjamin Baldwin- Justice, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
  • Mark Wells White- Governor of Texas (1983–1987)
  • Kirk Watson- Former mayor of Austin and current state senator
  • James B. Adams- Texas legislator, and former director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (1978–79)
  • William Sessions- Director of the FBI (1987–1993)
  • Max Sandlin- Judge, U.S. Congressman (1997–2005)
  • Louie Gohmert- U.S. Congressman (2005–present)
  • Beau Boulter- U.S. Congressman (1985–1989)
  • Jack M. Fields- U.S. Congressman (1981–1997)
  • Thomas C. Mann- U.S. Ambassador to El Salvador (1955–1957) and US Ambassador to Mexico (1961–1963)
  • Sam Blakely Hall Jr. – U.S. Congressman (1975–1985) and U.S. District Judge, Eastern District of Texas
  • Graham Boynton Purcell Jr. – U.S. Congressman (1962–1973)
  • Frank Wilson – U.S. Congressman (1947–1955)
  • Sam R. Cummings –Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas (1987–present)
  • Sidney A. Fitzwater – Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas (1986–present)
  • Andrew S. Hanen - Judge, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas (2002–present)
  • Joe Kendall – Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas (1992–2002)
  • Ed Kinkeade – Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas (2002–present)
  • Walter Smith – Chief Judge, U.S. District Court, Western District of Texas (1984–present)
  • Leonard Davis - Judge, United States District Court for the Eastern District of Texas(2002–present)
  • Chad Everingham - Magistrate Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Texas (2006–present)
  • Bob Bullock - Texas' 38th Lieutenant Governor and considered one of the most outstanding Texas political leaders of the 20th century.
  • T. John Ward - Judge, United States District Court for the Eastern District of Texas(1999–present)
  • John Lee Hancock - Screenplay writer and director of The Rookie, The Alamo, and The Blind Side.
  • Morris Harrell - Former President of the American Bar Association and the State Bar of Texas.
  • Abner McCall - Former Justice, Texas Supreme Court
  • Byron Tunnell - Former Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives
  • Abelardo Valdez - Former U.S. Ambassador and Chief of Protocol for the White House
  • Walter Umphrey - Counsel, Billion Dollar Tobacco Settlement (the building housing the law school is named for he and his wife, the primary donors for its construction)
  • Ed Blizzard - Pharmaceutical injury attorney
  • Kevin Reynolds - Former Texas lawyer and director of Fandango, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, and Waterworld.
  • J.T. Rutherford - Representative from Texas' 16th congressional district from 1955 to 1963; attended Baylor Law School from 1948 to 1950.
  • Jean A. Stuntz - Historian

Read more about this topic:  Baylor Law School

Other articles related to "notable alumni, alumni":

Polytechnic Institute Of New York University - Notable Alumni
... Polytechnic Institute of New York University has more than 44,000 alumni throughout the United States and in 55 countries around the world ... NYU-Poly's alumni include inventors, scientists, business leaders, entrepreneurs, politicians, country presidents, university presidents and academic leaders among others ... Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), are alumni ...

Famous quotes containing the word notable:

    In one notable instance, where the United States Army and a hundred years of persuasion failed, a highway has succeeded. The Seminole Indians surrendered to the Tamiami Trail. From the Everglades the remnants of this race emerged, soon after the trail was built, to set up their palm-thatched villages along the road and to hoist tribal flags as a lure to passing motorists.
    —For the State of Florida, U.S. public relief program (1935-1943)