AP National Championship Trophy

The AP National Championship Trophy is the trophy awarded annually by the Associated Press (AP) to the team who finishes the season at the number one spot in the AP Poll and signifies that team being selected as national champions of college football for that season.

The trophy consists of a silver or gold football suspended above a base which contains the letters "AP" (for Associated Press), along with the information on who the recipient of the trophy was.

Until the 1968 college football season, the final AP poll of the season was released following the end of the regular season, with the exception of the 1965 season.

The Associated Press is not tied to the Bowl Championship Series, and the trophy can be awarded to a team which did not win the BCS National Championship Game. This has happened once after the 2003 season when LSU won the BCS title game, but USC received a higher total of votes in the AP Poll, and therefore received the AP National Championship Trophy. Teams serving NCAA postseason bans are still eligible for the AP National Championship, which occurried following the 1974 season. Teams that are later sanctioned by the NCAA such that official results are forfeited or vacated do not forfeit their AP title, as occurred for the 2004 season.

Read more about AP National Championship TrophyWinners, See Also

Other articles related to "ap national championship trophy, ap, national championship trophy, trophy, national, championship":

AP National Championship Trophy - See Also
... AP Poll AFCA National Championship Trophy Grantland Rice Award MacArthur Trophy BCS National Championship Game NCAA Division I FBS national football championship ...

Famous quotes containing the word national:

    It is not unkind to say, from the standpoint of scenery alone, that if many, and indeed most, of our American national parks were to be set down on the continent of Europe thousands of Americans would journey all the way across the ocean in order to see their beauties.
    Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882–1945)