Anti-Secession Law

The Anti-Secession Law (simplified Chinese: 反分裂国家法; traditional Chinese: 反分裂國家法; pinyin: Fǎn-Fēnliè Guójiā Fǎ) is a law of the People's Republic of China. It was passed by the third conference of the 10th National People's Congress of the People's Republic of China (PRC). It was ratified on March 14, 2005, and went into effect immediately. Hu Jintao, President of the People's Republic of China, promulgated the law with Presidential Decree No. 34. Although the law, at ten articles, is relatively short, it was met with much controversy because it formalized the long-standing policy of the People's Republic of China to use "non-peaceful means" against the "Taiwan independence movement" in the event of a declaration of Taiwan independence.

Read more about Anti-Secession Law:  Background, Content, Development, Reaction

Other articles related to "law":

Anti-Secession Law - Reaction - International Response
... United States Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice commented the law as "not necessary", while White House spokesman Scott McClellan called its adoption "unfortunate", adding "It does not serve the purpose of peace ... In speaking about the law the United States repeated that it remained supportive of the One China policy as the US defines it, did not support Taiwan independence, and opposed any ... criticizing the PRC for the approval of the PRC law in Beijing ...

Famous quotes containing the word law:

    The older I get the more I trust in the law according to which the rose and the lily bloom.
    Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe (1749–1832)