Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards are United States literary awards dedicated to honoring written works that make important contributions to the understanding of racism and the appreciation of the rich diversity of human culture. Established in 1935 by Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf and originally administered by the Saturday Review, the awards have been administered by the Cleveland Foundation since 1963.

Three or four book awards, and sometimes a lifetime achievement award, are given out each year. Notable past winners include Zora Neale Hurston (1943), Langston Hughes (1954), Martin Luther King, Jr. (1959), Maxine Hong Kingston (1978), Wole Soyinka (1983), Nadine Gordimer (1988), Toni Morrison (1988), Ralph Ellison (1992), Edward Said (2000), and Derek Walcott (2004).

Read more about Anisfield-Wolf Book AwardsWinners

Other articles related to "award":

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards - Winners
... for Burnt Shadows 2010 – Elizabeth Alexander, Lifetime Achievement Award in Poetry 2010 – William Julius Wilson, Lifetime Achievement Award in Nonfiction 2010 ... Mohsin Hamid for The Reluctant Fundamentalist 2008 – William Melvin Kelley, Lifetime Achievement Award 2007 – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Half of a Yellow Sun 2007 – Taylor ... The Dew Breaker 2004 – Derek Walcott, Lifetime Achievement Award 2004 – Adrian Nicole LeBlanc for Random Family Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx 2004 – Edward P ...

Famous quotes containing the word book:

    A big leather-bound volume makes an ideal razorstrap. A thin book is useful to stick under a table with a broken caster to steady it. A large, flat atlas can be used to cover a window with a broken pane. And a thick, old-fashioned heavy book with a clasp is the finest thing in the world to throw at a noisy cat.
    Mark Twain [Samuel Langhorne Clemens] (1835–1910)