American Trucking Associations - Driver of The Year

Driver of The Year

The ATA National Driver of the Year Award recognizes one professional truck driver for his/her exemplary accomplishments and excellent driving attributes. Contestants for the ATA award start out by winning at the company level and are nominated by state trucking associations.

At the national level, the Driver of the Year Award is presented to a driver whose professional qualifications, experience and performance are noteworthy. A driver may be nominated for an outstanding deed of heroism or highway courtesy; an outstanding contribution to highway safety, and/or a long record of safe and courteous driving - or a combination of part or all of these. An impartial panel of judges from the trucking industry, government and law enforcement chooses the winner.

The honor is considered among the highest a commercial truck driver can receive. As the ATA National Driver of the Year, the winner receives a cash prize, trophy and diamond lapel pin at the ATA Annual Awards Banquet.

Past ATA National Driver of the Year Award Winners are:

Year Driver’s Name Company State
1948 Verle Langford Eveready Truck Service Colorado
1949 Martin Larsen Indianhead Truck Lines Minnesota
1950 Lloyd Reisner Hancock Truck Lines Indiana
1951 John Castner Pierce Auto Freight Lines, Inc. Oregon
1952 Allen C. Sagerhorn Consolidated Freightways, Inc. Oregon
1953 Pat Burkholder Garrett Freight Lines Nevada
1954 Gomer W. Bailey Buckingham Transportation, Inc. Colorado
1955 Floyd J. Pemberton Commercial Carriers, Inc. Michigan
1956 Lewis E. Cook Reed’s Transfer & Storage Co. Iowa
1957 Ernest Roedel Freight Ways, Inc. Missouri
1958 Reuben C. Thomas Sessions Company, Inc. Alabama
1959 Carl C. Crim Hugh Breeding, Inc. Oklahoma
1960 Russell L. Brown American Petrofina Co. Texas
1961 Melvin O. Griffith Eagle Transport Co. Texas
1962 Arthur M. Lear St. Johnsbury Trucking Co. Maine
1963 Wm. C. Nunley Yellow Transit Freight Lines Oklahoma
1964 Woodrow W. Given Service Lines, Inc. Tennessee
1965 Russell L. Beaulieu Branch Motor Express Co. Rhode Island
1966 Donald Beaudette Land O’Lakes Creameries, Inc. Minnesota
1967 James A. Martin B & L Motor Freight Ohio
1968 Wray Mundy D C International Colorado
1969 Frederick Marsh Watt Transport, Inc. Rhode Island
1970 Frank DeLucia Adley Express Co. Connecticut
1971 W.T. “Shorty” Smith Central Freight Lines, Inc. Texas
1972 Clarence Hoffman Raymond Motor Trans. Company Minnesota
1973 Curtis C. Stapp System 99 California
1974 Wilbur “Bill” Moore Pacific Intermountain Express Co. New Mexico
1975 Calvin W. Lane Coors Transportation Co. Colorado
1976 Harry R. Thomas Robertson Truck-A-Ways, Inc. California
1977 Olen Lee Welk C&H Transportation Co., Inc. Dallas, Texas/Missouri
1978 William M. Whim Mid-American Lines, Inc. Kansas
1979 Frank M. Waldron C&H Transportation Co., Inc. Arizona
1980 Malvin B. Mathews Complete Auto Transit Georgia
1981 Kenneth W. Olson Murphy Motor Freight Lines Minnesota
1982 William G. Yates Hobart Corporation Ohio
1983 Arthur E. Schooley Jack Cooper Transport Missouri
1984 N.F. Plunkett, Jr. Chevron USA Alabama
1985 John Chamberlain Giant Food Washington D.C.
1986 Davis C. Wrich MacMillan Bloedel Bldg. Materials Maryland
1987 Jack Wilhite Liquid Transport, Inc. Indiana
1988 Louis E. Mora Sierra Pacific Power Co. Nevada
1989 Charles K. Thompson Neal Oil Co. (APC) South Carolina
1990 J. Koole Steelcase, Inc. Michigan
1991 John D. Porter Con-Way Central Express Ohio
1992 Jerry Pitra Super Valu Stores, Inc. Minnesota
1993 David P. Maphis Hadley Auto Transport Co. California
1994 LaVant Bean Anderson Trucking Service Minnesota
1995 Floyd R. Buffington CF Motor Freight Illinois
1996 David G. McDonald Roadway Express Kansas
1997 Harold Likins, Jr. Farmland Industries Kansas
1998 James E. Sheriff Roadway Express Illinois
1999 Thomas W. Hawks Overnite Transportation Company Tennessee
2000 William Whim ABF Freight System, Inc. Kansas
2001 Steven Williams Nobel Sysco Colorado
2002 Kevin Scott Harris ABF Freight System, Inc. New York
2003 Doris Hansen Quality Transportation, Inc. Montana
2004 Charles Brown Yellow Transportation, Inc. Kansas
2005 Larry Springer Central Freight Lines Texas
2006 James Wilcox Yellow Transportation, Inc. New Mexico
2007 William Gray, Jr. UPS Freight Maryland
2008 David J. May Con-way Freight New York
2009 Keith Suits Rite Aid Rome Distribution Center New York
2010 Anthony A. Jones Central Freight Lines Texas
2011 Dalton “Rickey” Oliver Walmart Transportation, LLC Mississippi
2012 Ronald Fuller Central Freight Lines Texas

Read more about this topic:  American Trucking Associations

Famous quotes containing the words the year, year and/or driver:

    For myself I found that the occupation of a day-laborer was the most independent of any, especially as it required only thirty or forty days in a year to support one. The laborer’s day ends with the going down of the sun, and he is then free to devote himself to his chosen pursuit, independent of his labor; but his employer, who speculates from month to month, has no respite from one end of the year to the other.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    ... in all cases of monstrosity at birth anaesthetics should be applied by doctors publicly appointed for that purpose... Every successive year would see fewer of the unfit born, and finally none. But, it may be urged, this is legalized infanticide. Assuredly it is; and it is urgently needed.
    Tennessee Claflin (1846–1923)

    God help the horse, and the driver too!
    And the people and beasts who have never a friend!
    For the driver easily might have been you,
    And the horse be me by a different end!
    And nobody knows how their days will cease!
    And the poor, when they’re old, have little of peace!
    James Kenneth Stephens (1882–1950)