Amateurliga Rheinland - Disbanding of The Amateurliga Rheinland

Disbanding of The Amateurliga Rheinland

In 1978, the Oberliga Südwest was formed to allow direct promotion to the 2nd Bundesliga Süd for the Amateure champion of the area. The teams placed one to five gained entry to the Oberliga while the next ten teams were put into the new Verbandsliga Rheinland, now the fourth tier of the football league system. The bottom team was relegated to the Bezirksliga.

Admitted to the new Oberliga:

  • TuS Neuendorf
  • FSV Salmrohr
  • SpVgg EGC Wirges
  • Sportfreunde Eisbachtal
  • SV Ellingen

Relegated to the new Verbandsliga:

  • SV Leiwen
  • VfL Neuwied
  • SV Remagen
  • SC Bad Neuenahr
  • FC Bitburg
  • TuS Mayen
  • Alemannia Plaidt
  • VfB Wissen
  • SC Sinzig
  • TuS Hahnstetten

Relegated to the Bezirksliga:

  • Eintracht Höhr

Read more about this topic:  Amateurliga Rheinland