All-Ireland Junior Football Championship

The All-Ireland Junior Football Championship is a GAA competition for junior Gaelic football inter-county teams in Ireland. The definition of what constitutes a junior player differs from county to county. In some, the junior team is the second team after the senior team. This means that any players who have not played with the senior team can play with the junior team. In others, such as Cork and Kerry, players can only be chosen from clubs that play in junior or intermediate grades. These counties cannot choose players from senior clubs, even if they are not on the senior county team. When a team wins this championship, it has to pick a new team for the following year. No player can thus be on a winning team for two successive years. Currently, Ulster does not participate in this championship.

Cork are the 2011 champions and are the most successful county in the competition's history, having lifted the title on sixteen occasions. The 2008 championship was won by Dublin for the first time since 1960. Sligo defeated Kerry in 2010 to win their first title since 1935.

For the bulk of this competition's history, the winners of the provincial championships met to decide who was the "Home" winner. This team then met the champion county in Great Britain to determine the All-Ireland champion.

Read more about All-Ireland Junior Football Championship:  Top Winners, Roll of Honour

Other related articles:

All-Ireland Junior Football Championship - Roll of Honour - By Province
... Province All-Irelands Most recent winning team Munster clubs 34 Kerry, 2012 Leinster clubs 21 Dublin, 2008 Connacht clubs 12 Sligo, 2010 Ulster clubs 6 Tyrone, 1968 ...

Famous quotes containing the words football and/or junior:

    ...I’m not money hungry.... People who are rich want to be richer, but what’s the difference? You can’t take it with you. The toys get different, that’s all. The rich guys buy a football team, the poor guys buy a football. It’s all relative.
    Martina Navratilova (b. 1956)

    The junior senator from Wisconsin, by his reckless charges, has so preyed upon the fears and hatreds and prejudices of the American people that he has started a prairie fire which neither he nor anyone else may be able to control.
    J. William Fulbright (b. 1905)