34th Academy Awards - Awards


Winners are listed first and highlighted with boldface

Best Motion Picture Best Director
  • Jerome Robbins and Robert Wise – West Side Story
    • Stanley Kramer – Judgment at Nuremberg
    • Federico Fellini – La Dolce Vita
    • J. Lee Thompson – The Guns of Navarone
    • Robert Rossen – The Hustler
Best Actor Best Actress
  • Maximilian Schell – Judgment at Nuremberg
    • Paul Newman – The Hustler
    • Spencer Tracy – Judgment at Nuremberg
    • Charles Boyer – Fanny
    • Stuart Whitman – The Mark
  • Sophia Loren – Two Women
    • Piper Laurie – The Hustler
    • Audrey Hepburn – Breakfast at Tiffany's
    • Natalie Wood – Splendor in the Grass
    • Geraldine Page – Summer and Smoke
Best Supporting Actor Best Supporting Actress
  • George Chakiris – West Side Story
    • Montgomery Clift – Judgment at Nuremberg
    • George C. Scott – The Hustler
    • Jackie Gleason – The Hustler
    • Peter Falk – Pocketful of Miracles
  • Rita Moreno – West Side Story
    • Judy Garland – Judgment at Nuremberg
    • Una Merkel – Summer and Smoke
    • Fay Bainter – The Children's Hour
    • Lotte Lenya – The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone
Best Original Screenplay Best Adapted Screenplay
  • Splendor in the Grass – William Inge
    • La Dolce Vita – Federico Fellini, Tullio Pinelli, Ennio Flaiano and Brunello Rondi
    • Ballad of a Soldier – Valentin Ezhov and Grigori Chukhrai
    • General della Rovere – Sergio Amidei, Diego Fabbri and Indro Montanelli
    • Lover Come Back – Stanley Shapiro and Paul Henning
  • Judgment at Nuremberg – Abby Mann
    • West Side Story – Ernest Lehman
    • Breakfast at Tiffany's – George Axelrod
    • The Guns of Navarone – Carl Foreman
    • The Hustler – Robert Rossen and Sidney Carroll
Best Foreign Language Film
  • Through a Glass Darkly (Sweden)
    • Immortal Love (Japan)
    • Harry and the Butler (Denmark)
    • Plácido (Spain)
    • The Important Man (Mexico)
Best Documentary Feature Best Documentary Short
  • Sky Above and Mud Beneath
    • The Grand Olympics
  • Project Hope
    • Breaking the Language Barrier
    • Cradle of Genius
    • Kahl
    • The Man in Gray
Best Live Action Short Best Animated Short
  • Seawards the Great Ships
    • Play Ball!
    • The Face of Jesus
    • Rooftops of New York
    • Very Nice, Very Nice
  • Ersatz (The Substitute)
    • Aquamania
    • Beep Prepared
    • Nelly's Folly
    • Pied Piper of Guadalupe
Best Dramatic or Comedy Score Best Musical Score
  • Breakfast at Tiffany's – Henry Mancini
    • El Cid – Miklos Rozsa
    • Fanny – Morris Stoloff and Harry Sukman
    • Summer and Smoke – Elmer Bernstein
    • The Guns of Navarone – Dimitri Tiomkin
  • West Side Story – Saul Chaplin, Johnny Green, Sid Ramin and Irwin Kostal
    • Babes in Toyland – George Bruns
    • Flower Drum Song – Alfred Newman and Ken Darby
    • Khovanshchina – Dmitri Shostakovich
    • Paris Blues – Duke Ellington
Best Original Song Best Sound Recording
  • "Moon River" from Breakfast at Tiffany's – Music by Henry Mancini; Lyric by Johnny Mercer
    • "Bachelor in Paradise" from Bachelor in Paradise – Music by Henry Mancini; Lyric by Mack David
    • "Love Theme from El Cid (The Falcon and the Dove)" from El Cid – Music by Miklos Rozsa; Lyric by Paul Francis Webster
    • "Pocketful of Miracles" from Pocketful of Miracles – Music by Jimmy Van Heusen; Lyric by Sammy Cahn
    • "Town Without Pity" from Town Without Pity – Music by Dimitri Tiomkin; Lyric by Ned Washington
  • West Side Story – Gordon E. Sawyer, Fred Hynes
    • The Parent Trap – Robert O. Cook
    • The Children's Hour – Gordon E. Sawyer
    • Flower Drum Song – Waldon O. Watson
    • The Guns of Navarone – John Cox
Best Art Direction, Black and White Best Art Direction, Color
  • The Hustler – Art Direction: Harry Horner; Set Decoration: Gene Callahan
    • Judgment at Nuremberg – Art Direction: Rudolph Sternad; Set Decoration: George Milo
    • The Absent-Minded Professor – Art Direction: Carroll Clark; Set Decoration: Emile Kuri and Hal Gausman
    • La Dolce Vita – Art Direction and Set Decoration: Piero Gherardi
    • The Children's Hour – Art Direction: Fernando Carrere; Set Decoration: Edward G. Boyle
  • West Side Story – Art Direction: Boris Leven; Set Decoration: Victor Gangelin
    • Breakfast at Tiffany's – Art Direction: Hal Pereira and Roland Anderson; Set Decoration: Sam Comer and Ray Moyer
    • Flower Drum Song – Art Direction: Alexander Golitzen and Joseph C. Wright; Set Decoration: Howard Bristol
    • El Cid – Art Direction and Set Decoration: Veniero Colasanti and John Moore
    • Summer and Smoke – Art Direction: Hal Pereira and Walter H. Tyler; Set Decoration: Sam Comer and Arthur Krams
Best Cinematography, Black and White Best Cinematography, Color
  • The Hustler – Eugen Schüfftan
    • Judgment at Nuremberg – Ernest Laszlo
    • One, Two, Three – Daniel L. Fapp
    • The Absent-Minded Professor – Edward Colman
    • The Children's Hour – Franz F. Planer
  • West Side Story – Daniel L. Fapp
    • A Majority of One – Harry Stradling, Sr.
    • Fanny – Jack Cardiff
    • Flower Drum Song – Russell Metty
    • One-Eyed Jacks – Charles Lang, Jr.
Best Costume Design, Black and White Best Costume Design, Color
  • La Dolce Vita – Piero Gherardi
    • Claudelle Inglish – Howard Shoup
    • Judgment at Nuremberg – Jean Louis
    • The Children's Hour – Dorothy Jeakins
    • Yojimbo – Yoshirō Muraki
  • West Side Story – Irene Sharaff
    • Back Street – Jean Louis
    • Babes in Toyland – Bill Thomas
    • Flower Drum Song – Irene Sharaff
    • Pocketful of Miracles – Edith Head and Walter Plunkett
Best Film Editing Best Visual Effects
  • West Side Story – Thomas Stanford
    • The Parent Trap – Philip W. Anderson
    • Fanny – William H. Reynolds
    • Judgment at Nuremberg – Frederic Knudtson
    • The Guns of Navarone – Alan Osbiston
  • The Guns of Navarone – Bill Warrington and Vivian C. Greenham
    • The Absent-Minded Professor – Robert A. Mattey and Eustace Lycett

Read more about this topic:  34th Academy Awards

Other articles related to "awards, award":

3D Systems - Community Involvement & Partnerships
3D Systems began partnering with the 90-year-old Scholastic Art Writing Awards in the Future New category ... For this branch of the Scholastic Awards, students will be challenged to express bold and innovative ideas using new technologies. 3D Systems will offer students free 3D design software to facilitate their creations and will award three winners with a $1000 scholarship ...
Kelly Osbourne - Awards and Nominations
2002 – Teen Choice Awards – TV – Choice Breakout Star, Female (The Osbournes) – Won 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Favorite TV Personality – Nominated 2003 – Teen Choice Awards ...
The A-Team - Production Notes - Awards
... During its time, The A-Team was nominated for 3 Emmy Awards In 1983 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the pilot episode, in 1984 (Outsta ...
41st Academy Awards - Winners - Presenters
... Best Cinematography) Diahann Carroll (Presenter Best Visual Effects, Documentary Awards Honorary Award to Onna White) Tony Curtis (Presenter Best Supporting Actress, Short Subjects Awards ...
59th World Science Fiction Convention - Awards - Other Awards
... John W ... Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001 Kristine Smith ...