2006 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

The 2006 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 was an endurance race for V8 Supercars, held on 8 October 2006 at the Mount Panorama Circuit just outside Bathurst in New South Wales, Australia. It was Round 9 of the 2006 V8 Supercar Championship Series.

The event was the tenth running of the Australia 1000 race, first held after the organisational split over the Bathurst 1000 that occurred in 1997. It was also the 50th race in a sequence of endurance events beginning with the 1960 Armstrong 500 held at Phillip Island.

The race winners were awarded the Peter Brock Trophy, commemorating the recent death of nine time Bathurst winner, Peter Brock. Perhaps fittingly the race was won by Brock's protégé, Craig Lowndes and his Team Betta Electrical co-driver Jamie Whincup. It was Whincup's first "Bathurst 1000" win following on from his second place in the 2005 Supercheap Auto 1000. Whincup became the 51st drive to win in the combined history of the race. It was Lowndes second win, achieved ten years after his 1996 AMP Bathurst 1000 win. It was also the first "1000" win for Triple Eight Race Engineering which first contested the event in 1997.

Read more about 2006 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000:  Support Race Tragedy, Top Ten Shootout, Official Results, Statistics