2006 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament

The 2006 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament was held from June 2nd through June 26th, 2006. 64 NCAA Division I college baseball teams met after having played their way through a regular season, and for some, a conference tournament, to play in the NCAA Tournament. The tournament culminated with 8 teams in the College World Series at historic Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

LSU, which won five College World Series championships between 1991 and 2000, hosted a regional every year between 1990 and 2005, and had reached regional play 20 times in 21 seasons since 1985, did not qualify for the NCAA tournament for the first time since 1988 and only the third time since 1984, the year Skip Bertman began his 24-year association with the school as baseball coach and later athletic director. The Tigers finished 35-24 and eighth in the 12-team Southeastern Conference.

Read more about 2006 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament:  National Seeds, Tournament Performance By Conference, Notes On Tournament Field

Other articles related to "2006 ncaa division i baseball tournament, ncaa":

2006 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament - Notes On Tournament Field
... Lehigh, UNC Asheville, Prairie View, and Sacred Heart were making their first NCAA tournament appearance ...

Famous quotes containing the words baseball and/or division:

    How, in one short century, has this ersatz sport so strangled the consciousness of the country in the grip of its flabby tentacles that the mention of women’s baseball gets no reaction other than blank amazement?
    Darlene Mehrer, As quoted in Women in Baseball. Ch. 6, by Gai Ingham Berlage (1994)

    Between married persons, the cement of friendship is by the laws supposed so strong as to abolish all division of possessions: and has often, in reality, the force ascribed to it.

    David Hume (1711–1776)