2005 SEC Championship Game - Regular Season - SEC East

SEC East

The battle for the SEC East was a three-way battle for the entire conference season among the Georgia Bulldogs, Florida Gators, and South Carolina Gamecocks. The Georgia Bulldogs entered the season with high hopes and rattled off a 5-0 conference record (South Carolina, Mississippi State, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, and Arkansas) before heading to Jacksonville for the annual battle with the Florida Gators. Georgia was ranked #4 in both polls, and a win would have sealed the SEC East crown. But, with starting quarterback D.J. Shockley sidelined with an injury suffered in the Homecoming victory against Arkansas, Joe Tereshinski, III the Gators prevailed, 14-10 and dealt the Bulldogs their first loss of the season. Brandon Coutu missed two field goals late in the game which proved the difference in the game.

Again with the SEC East crown on the line, the Bulldogs played the Auburn Tigers at home in a series which traditionally favors the road-team. Auburn won the game on a John Vaughn 20 yard field goal with 0:06 on the clock, 30-31. On the third attempt to punch their ticket to Atlanta, the Bulldogs defeated unranked Kentucky 45-13 on Senior Day. A loss to the Wildcats would have created a three-way tie (Florida and South Carolina) for the SEC East Crown. Georgia's win clinched their 5th SEC East crown, and 3rd trip to the title game.

Read more about this topic:  2005 SEC Championship Game, Regular Season

Other articles related to "sec, sec east":

Tennessee Volunteers Football - Championships - Divisional Championships
... Conference's Eastern Division, Tennessee has made five appearances in the SEC Championship Game, with the most recent coming in 2007 ... Year Division Championship SEC CG Result Opponent PF PA 1997 SEC East W Auburn 1998 ... SEC East W Mississippi State 2001 ... SEC East L LSU 2003 ... SEC East NA Did ...

Famous quotes containing the word east:

    The practice of politics in the East may be defined by one word: dissimulation.
    Benjamin Disraeli (1804–1881)