19th Academy Awards - Awards


Winners are listed first and highlighted in boldface.

Best Motion Picture Best Director
  • Samuel Goldwyn for RKO Radio Pictures - The Best Years of Our Lives
    • Laurence Olivier for United Artists - Henry V
    • Frank Capra for RKO Radio Pictures - It's a Wonderful Life
    • Darryl F. Zanuck for 20th Century Fox - The Razor's Edge
    • Sidney Franklin for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer - The Yearling
  • William Wyler – The Best Years of Our Lives
    • Clarence Brown – The Yearling
    • Frank Capra – It's a Wonderful Life
    • David Lean – Brief Encounter
    • Robert Siodmak – The Killers
Best Actor Best Actress
  • Fredric March – The Best Years of Our Lives
    • Laurence Olivier – Henry V
    • Larry Parks – The Jolson Story
    • Gregory Peck – The Yearling
    • James Stewart – It's a Wonderful Life
  • Olivia de Havilland – To Each His Own
    • Celia Johnson – Brief Encounter
    • Jennifer Jones – Duel in the Sun
    • Rosalind Russell – Sister Kenny
    • Jane Wyman – The Yearling
Best Supporting Actor Best Supporting Actress
  • Harold Russell – The Best Years of Our Lives
    • Charles Coburn – The Green Years
    • William Demarest – The Jolson Story
    • Claude Rains – Notorious
    • Clifton Webb – The Razor's Edge
  • Anne Baxter – The Razor's Edge
    • Ethel Barrymore – The Spiral Staircase
    • Lillian Gish – Duel in the Sun
    • Flora Robson – Saratoga Trunk
    • Gale Sondergaard – Anna and the King of Siam
Best Original Screenplay Best Adapted Screenplay
  • The Seventh Veil – Muriel Box and Sydney Box
    • The Blue Dahlia – Raymond Chandler
    • Notorious – Ben Hecht
    • Road to Utopia – Norman Panama and Melvin Frank
    • Children of Paradise – Jacques Prévert
  • The Best Years of Our Lives – Robert E. Sherwood
    • Rome, Open City – Sergio Amidei and Federico Fellini
    • Anna and the King of Siam – Sally Benson and Talbot Jennings
    • Brief Encounter – Anthony Havelock-Allan, David Lean and Ronald Neame
    • The Killers – Anthony Veiller
Best Story
  • Vacation From Marriage – Clemence Dane
    • To Each His Own – Charles Brackett
    • The Strange Love of Martha Ivers – Jack Patrick
    • The Dark Mirror – Vladimir Pozner
    • The Stranger – Victor Trivas
Best Documentary Short Best Animated Short Film
  • Seeds of Destiny
    • Atomic Power
    • Life at the Zoo
    • Paramount News Issue #37
    • Traffic with the Devil
  • The Cat Concerto – Frederick Quimby
    • Chopin's Musical Moments – Walter Lantz
    • John Henry and the Inky Poo – George Pal
    • Squatter's Rights – Walt Disney
    • Walky Talky Hawky – Edward Selzer
Best Live Action Short Film, One-Reel Best Live Action Short Film, Two-Reel
  • Facing Your Danger – Gordon Hollingshead
    • Dive-Hi Champs – Jack Eaton
    • Golden Horses – Edmund Reek
    • Smart as a Fox – Gordon Hollingshead
    • Sure Cures – Pete Smith
  • A Boy and His Dog – Gordon Hollingshead
    • College Queen – George B. Templeton
    • Hiss and Yell – Jules White
    • The Luckiest Guy in the World – Jerry Bresler
Best Dramatic or Comedy Score Best Musical Score
  • The Best Years of Our Lives – Hugo Friedhofer
    • Anna and the King of Siam – Bernard Herrmann
    • The Killers – Miklós Rózsa
    • Henry V – William Walton
    • Humoresque – Franz Waxman
  • The Jolson Story – Morris Stoloff
    • Blue Skies – Robert Emmett Dolan
    • The Harvey Girls – Lennie Hayton
    • Night and Day – Ray Heindorf and Max Steiner
    • Centennial Summer – Alfred Newman
Best Original Song Best Sound Recording
  • "On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe" from The Harvey Girls – Music by Harry Warren; Lyric by Johnny Mercer
    • "All Through the Day" from Centennial Summer – Music by Jerome Kern; Lyric by Oscar Hammerstein II
    • "I Can't Begin to Tell You" from The Dolly Sisters – Music by James V. Monaco; Lyric by Mack Gordon
    • "Ole Buttermilk Sky" from Canyon Passage – Music by Hoagy Carmichael; Lyric by Jack Brooks
    • "You Keep Coming Back Like a Song" from Blue Skies – Music and Lyric by Irving Berlin
  • The Jolson Story – John Livadary, Columbia Studio Sound Department
    • It's a Wonderful Life – John Aalberg, RKO Radio Studio Sound Department
    • The Best Years of Our Lives – Gordon E. Sawyer, Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Department
Best Art Direction, Black and White Best Art Direction, Color
  • Anna and the King of Siam – Art Direction: Lyle Wheeler and William S. Darling; Set Decoration: Thomas Little and Frank E. Hughes
    • The Razor's Edge – Art Direction: Richard Day and Nathan Juran; Set Decoration: Thomas Little and Paul S. Fox
    • Kitty – Art Direction: Hans Dreier and Walter Tyler; Set Decoration: Sam Comer and Ray Moyer
  • The Yearling – Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons and Paul Groesse; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis
    • Caesar and Cleopatra – Art Direction and Set Decoration: John Bryan
    • Henry V – Art Direction and Set Decoration: Paul Sheriff and Carmen Dillon
Best Cinematography, Black and White Best Cinematography, Color
  • Anna and the King of Siam – Arthur C. Miller
    • The Green Years – George Folsey
  • The Yearling – Charles Rosher, Leonard Smith and Arthur Arling
    • The Jolson Story – Joseph Walker
Best Film Editing Best Visual Effects
  • The Best Years of Our Lives – Daniel Mandell
    • The Killers – Arthur Hilton
    • It's a Wonderful Life – William Hornbeck
    • The Yearling – Harold Kress
    • The Jolson Story – William Lyon
  • Blithe Spirit – Thomas Howard
    • A Stolen Life – William McGann and Nathan Levinson

Read more about this topic:  19th Academy Awards

Other articles related to "awards, award":

41st Academy Awards - Winners - Presenters
... Presenter Best Visual Effects, Documentary Awards Honorary Award to Onna White) Tony Curtis (Presenter Best Supporting Actress, Short Subjects Awards, Documentary Awards ...
The A-Team - Production Notes - Awards
... During its time, The A-Team was nominated for 3 Emmy Awards In 1983 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the pilot episode, in 1984 (Outstanding Film ...
3D Systems - Community Involvement & Partnerships
... with the 90-year-old Scholastic Art Writing Awards in the Future New category ... For this branch of the Scholastic Awards, students will be challenged to express bold and innovative ideas using new technologies ... software to facilitate their creations and will award three winners with a $1000 scholarship ...
Kelly Osbourne - Awards and Nominations
2002 – Teen Choice Awards – TV – Choice Breakout Star, Female (The Osbournes) – Won 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Favorite TV Personality – Nominated 2003 – Teen Choice Awards ...
59th World Science Fiction Convention - Awards - Other Awards
... John W ... Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001 Kristine Smith ...