1994 Giro D'Italia

The 1994 Giro d'Italia was the 77th edition of the Giro d'Italia, one of cycling's Grand Tours. The Giro started off in Bologna on May 22 with a short 86 km (53.4 mi) stage. The race came to a close on June 12 with a flat stage that stretched 198 km (123.0 mi) from Turin to Milan. Seventeen teams entered the race, which was won by Evgeni Berzin of the Gewiss-Ballan team. Second and third respectively were the Italian Marco Pantani and the Spanish rider, Miguel Indurain.

Berzin first gained the race lead after the fourth stage where he attacked up the stage's final climb to win the stage. The race's overall classification was first headed by Endrio Leoni who won the Giro's opening road stage. However, Leoni lost the lead of the race later that day during the afternoon individual time trial to Armand de Las Cuevas. De Las Cuevas held the lead for a single stage before losing it to Moreno Argentin who won the race's second stage. Argentin held the general classification lead for two stages, before Berzin took the lead after stage 4. After gaining the lead, Berzin began to build upon his lead after winning the stage 8 and 18 individual time trials and maintaining good form throughout the mountains.

Berzin became the first Russian to win the Giro d'Italia. Berzin also won the young rider classification for the best rider aged 25 or under in the general classification. In the race's other classifications, Swiss rider Pascal Richard won the mountains classification and Djamolidine Abdoujaparov of Team Polti-Vaporetto was the winner of the points and intergiro classifications. Carrera Jeans-Tassoni finished as the winners of the Trofeo Fast Team, which ranked each of the twenty teams contesting the race by lowest cumulative time. Team Polti-Vaporetto finished as the winners of the Trofeo Super Team classification, where the teams' riders are awarded points for placing within the top twenty in each stage.

Read more about 1994 Giro D'Italia:  Teams, Route and Stages, Race Overview, Classification Leadership, Final Standings