1992 Giro D'Italia

The 1992 Giro d'Italia was the 75th edition of the Giro d'Italia, one of cycling's Grand Tours. The Giro started off in Genoa on 24 May with a 8 km (5.0 mi) individual time trial. The race concluded in Milan with a 66 km (41.0 mi) individual time trial on 14 June. Twenty teams entered the race, which was won by the Spaniard Miguel Indurain of the Banesto team. Second and third respectively were the Italians Claudio Chiappucci and Franco Chioccioli. Indurain's victory in the 1992 Giro was his first step in completing the Giro - Tour double – winning the Giro d'Italia and Tour de France in one calendar year - becoming the sixth rider to accomplish this feat, with the first being Fausto Coppi in 1949.

Indurain became the first Spanish rider to win the Giro d'Italia. Indurain also won the secondary intergiro classification. In the race's other classifications, Lampre-Colnago rider Pavel Tonkov of Russia finished as the best rider aged 25 or under in the general classification, finishing in seventh place overall; Mario Cipollini of the GB-MG Maglificio team was the winner of the points classification, with GB-MG Maglificio finishing as the winners of the Trofeo Fast Team, ranking each of the twenty teams contesting the race by lowest cumulative time.

Read more about 1992 Giro D'Italia:  Teams, Route and Stages, Classification Leadership, Final Standings