1977 Hardie-Ferodo 1000

The 1977 Hardie-Ferodo 1000 was the 18th running of the Bathurst 1000 touring car race. It was held on 2 October 1977 at the Mount Panorama Circuit just outside Bathurst. The race was open to cars eligible to the locally developed CAMS Group C touring car regulations with three engine capacity based classes.

The race was won by Allan Moffat for a record-equalling fourth time, driving with multiple Formula One Grand Prix and 24 Hours of Le Mans winner, Belgian legend Jacky Ickx. They finished in side-by-side formation with the Moffat Ford Dealers team's second Ford Falcon driver by Colin Bond and Alan Hamilton in the most dominant team performance seen at the race (Hamilton got the drive after Bond's original nominated co-driver Gregg Hansford was unavailable due to injury). Third was the first of the Holden Torana's, a privateer entry driven by Peter Janson and Australian Formula One driver Larry Perkins.

Two-time Indianapolis 500 champion Johnny Rutherford made his only start in this race alongside his teammate Janet Guthrie, a fellow USAC Marlboro Championship Trail driver and the first woman to ever qualify for the Indy 500. The pair drove the second of the Ron Hodgson Torana's alongside defending race winners Bob Morris and John Fitzpatrick. Interestingly, Morris and Fitzpatrick drove one of the 4-door A9X Torana's while Rutherford and Guthrie drove one of the new hatchback A9X's.

Years after the event, Colin Bond stated that he wished he had powered past Moffat's ailing Falcon (the car was out of brakes) and won the race instead of playing to team orders (which came from team boss Moffat) to stay behind and let the #1 Ford win the race. Moffat also stated that during the race he had offered Bond a drive in his car, which would have seen Bond join Moffat and Ickx as winners, but the 1969 winner had declined preferring to stick with car #2.

With the exception of 1988, 1977 was the last time that the full grid at Bathurst was decided in the traditional qualifying sessions. 1978 would see the introduction of the "Hardies Heroes" top 10 runoff for pole where the fastest eight qualifiers, plus two at the stewards invitation, would have a chance at pole position with a runoff held the day before the race.

Read more about 1977 Hardie-Ferodo 1000:  Results, Statistics