1967 NSWRFL Season

1967 NSWRFL Season

The 1967 New South Wales Rugby Football League premiership was the sixtieth season of Sydney's professional rugby league football competition, Australia's first. The introduction of the Cronulla-Sutherland and Penrith clubs saw a total of twelve teams from across the Sydney area compete for the J J Giltinan Shield and WD & HO Wills Cup during the season, which culminated in a grand final between South Sydney and Canterbury-Bankstown. This was also the first live televised broadcast of a football grand final of any code in Australia.

Read more about 1967 NSWRFL Season:  Season Summary, Finals

Other articles related to "1967 nswrfl season, 1967, seasons":

1967 NSWRFL Season - Finals - Grand Final
... Clive Churchill Live television broadcast coverage of grand finals commenced in 1967 with the match being shown on all four Sydney channels ... McCarthy, O'Neill, Sattler and Simms would win four premierships in the next five seasons and figure prominently in representative squads of that period ...

Famous quotes containing the word season:

    Compare ... the cinema with theatre. Both are dramatic arts. Theatre brings actors before a public and every night during the season they re-enact the same drama. Deep in the nature of theatre is a sense of ritual. The cinema, by contrast, transports its audience individually, singly, out of the theatre towards the unknown.
    John Berger (b. 1926)