Yusef Abad

Yusef Abad is a locality of Tehran, consisting of an area developed through parallel streets called Yusef Abad, Ebn e Sina (Avicena), Jahan Ara, Modabber (Mahram) and Mostowfi; the latter being the most beautiful and consequently the most expensive part of it. It was first built by Mirza Yusef Ashtiani Mostowfi ul-Mamalek in the northwest of Dar-ol Xelafe Naseri, so was named after him az Yusef Abad locality.

The type of people residing there are generally upper middle class and prestigious. The area is located in the north central part of the town and is served by Valiasr St, as well as Kordestan and Hemmat Expressways.

Yusef Abad has three major Parks: Shafaq park and its public library in the middle of Yusef Abad Street, Qezel-Qale (Red Castle) Park in the beginning of Jahan Ara Street, this place is a part of Former Qezel-Qale prison which was abandoned for many years, and the latter one is Dustan (friends) park at the north of the Yusef Abad street.

The locality is one of four major neighborhoods in Tehran with the highest population of Persian Jewish people, the others being Sheikh Hadi, Gorgan, and Gisha.

It is also host to one of a few synagogues in the city, Yusef Abad Synagogue, called Kenise e Yusef Abad in Persian.

Yusef Abad is also home to one of the first and prominent residential skyscrapers in Tehran, the A.S.P. Towers. The towers are located in corner of Kordestan and Hakim highways, north of Yusef Abad district. They have been a landmark since being completed in 1976.

Situated just behind the A.S.P. Towers, are the newly completed Borj-e beinolmelal-e Tehran or Tehran International Tower. This skyscraper has the title of tallest residential tower in Iran.

Main neighbourhoods of Tehran
  • Aghdasieh
  • Ajodanieh
  • Darakeh
  • Darband
  • Darrous
  • Davoodiyeh
  • Doulat
  • Ekhtiarieh
  • Elahieh
  • Farmanieh
  • Gheytarieh
  • Gholhak
  • Jamaran
  • Jordan
  • Kamranieh
  • Mahmoodieh
  • Mehran
  • Niavaran
  • Pasdaran
  • Shemiran
  • Tajrish
  • Vanak
  • Valiasr
  • Velenjak
  • Zafaraniyeh
  • Ekbatan
  • Apadana Complex
  • Bagh Feiz
  • Farahzad
  • Gisha
  • Jannat Abad
  • Punak
  • Sa'adat Abad
  • Sadeghiyeh
  • Shahrak-e Gharb
  • Shahran
  • Shahrara
  • Shahr-e ziba
  • Tarasht
  • Tehransar
  • Abbas Abad
  • Amir Abad
  • Baharestan
  • Bazar
  • Hasan Abad
  • Jomhuri
  • Park-e Shahr
  • Seyed Khandan
  • Toopkhaneh
  • Yusef Abad
  • Afsariyeh
  • Lavizan
  • Narmak
  • Tehranpars
  • Tehranno
  • Gomrok
  • Javadiyeh
  • Khavaran
  • Navvab
  • Nazi Abad
  • Rey
  • Yaft Abad

Coordinates: 35°10′N 61°06′E / 35.167°N 61.1°E / 35.167; 61.1