Yorkshire Cup (horse Race)

Yorkshire Cup (horse Race)

The Yorkshire Cup is a Group 2 flat horse race in Great Britain open to thoroughbreds aged four years or older. It is run at York over a distance of 1 mile and 6 furlongs (2,816 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in May.

The event was established in 1927, and it was originally contested over 2 miles. It was abandoned from 1940 to 1944, and it was staged later in the year as the Yorkshire Autumn Cup in 1945. It was cut to 1 mile and 6 furlongs in 1966.

The Yorkshire Cup is usually held on the final day of York's three-day Dante Festival meeting, the day after the Dante Stakes.

Read more about Yorkshire Cup (horse Race):  Winners Since 1979, Earlier Winners

Other related articles:

Yorkshire Cup (horse Race) - Earlier Winners
1927 Templestowe 1928 Royal Pom 1929 The Consul 1930 The Bastard 1931 The Scout II 1932 Trimdon 1933 Orpen 1934 Within-the-Law 1935 Felicitation 1936 Valerius 1937 ...

Famous quotes containing the word cup:

    Sunday morning may be cheery enough, with its extra cup of coffee and litter of Sunday newspapers, but there is always hanging over it the ominous threat of 3 P.M., when the sun gets around to the back windows and life stops dead in its tracks.
    Robert Benchley (1889–1945)