World Snooker Championship

The World Snooker Championship is the leading professional snooker tournament in terms of both prize money and ranking points. It is one of the Triple Crown events. The first championship was held in 1927; since 1977, it has been played at the Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, England. In the modern era, the best record is that of Stephen Hendry, who has won the title seven times, while Steve Davis and Ray Reardon have both won six times. The current champion is Ronnie O'Sullivan, who has won the title four times.

Read more about World Snooker ChampionshipHistory, Top Performers of The Modern Era, General Records and Statistics, Television Coverage

Other articles related to "world snooker, world snooker championship, championship, world, snooker":

List Of Snooker Players By Number Of Ranking Titles - List of Winners
... Players currently not on the World Snooker Main Tour ... Name Total (minor) Total (standard) Hendry, StephenStephen Hendry 36 ... World Snooker Championship 7 UK Championship 5 World Open 4 Welsh Open 3 British Open 4 Dubai Classic 3 Malta Cup 4 Scottish Open ...
WSC Real 08: World Snooker Championship
... WSC Real 08 World Snooker Championship is a sport simulation video game, developed by Blade Interactive and published by Koch Media ... The game is a simulator of real-world professional snooker players and tournaments ... It was released as WSC Real 09 World Snooker Championship on Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 on April 3, 2009 ...
Ted Lowe - Life and Career
... of London's Leicester Square Hall, the home of professional billiards and snooker ... He was the commentator for the snooker television show Pot Black from 1969 ... He went on to become the "voice of snooker" and led the commentary in many tournaments ...
Peter Ebdon - Career Finals - Ranking Event Finals: 17 (9 Titles, 8 Runner-ups)
... Legend World Championship (1–2) UK Championship (1–1) Other (7–5) Outcome No ... Year Championship Opponent in the final Score Winner 1. 1995 UK Championship Stephen Hendry 3–10 Runner-up 3 ...
World Snooker Championship - Television Coverage
... BBC coverage of the competition was hosted from 1976 until 2000 by David Vine, with commentary by Ted Lowe, John Spencer, Clive Everton, Jack Karnehm, Ray Edmonds and others ... From 2000–2009 the BBC coverage has been hosted by Hazel Irvine or Ray Stubbs ...

Famous quotes containing the word world:

    To see a world in a grain of sand
    And a heaven in a wild flower,
    Hold infinity in the palm of your hand
    And eternity in an hour.
    William Blake (1757–1827)