Wolf Prize in Agriculture - Laureates


Year Name Nationality Citation
1978 George F. Sprague United States for his outstanding research on the genetic amelioration of maize for human welfare.
John Charles Walker United States for his research in plant pathology, developing of disease-resistant varieties of major food plants.
1979 Jay L. Lush United States for his outstanding and pioneering contributions to the application of genetics to livestock improvement;
Kenneth Blaxter United Kingdom for his fundamental contributions to the science and practice of ruminant nutrition and livestock production.
1980 Karl Maramorosch Poland / United States for his pioneering and wide-ranging studies on interactions between insects and disease agents in plants.
1981 John O. Almquist United States for his significant contributions to the application of artificial insemination to livestock improvement.
Henry A. Lardy United States for his pioneering research on storage and preservation of spermatozoa thus enabling artificial insemination to become a universal practice.
Glenn W. Salisbury United States for his outstanding achievements in basic and applied research on artificial insemination.
1982 Wendell L. Roelofs United States for his fundamental chemical and biological research on pheromones and their practical use in insect control.
1983/4 Don Kirkham
Cornelis T. de Wit
United States
for their innovative contributions to the quantitative understanding of soil-water and other environmental interactions influencing crop growth and yield.
1984/5 Robert H. Burris United States for his pioneering fundamental research on the mechanisms of biological nitrogen fixation and its application in crop production.
1986 Ralph Riley
Ernest R. Sears
United Kingdom
United States
for their fundamental research in cytogenetics of wheat, providing the basis for genetic improvement of cereal grains.
1987 Theodor O. Diener United States for his discovery and pioneering fundamental research on viroids and his applied work on viroid detection in crops.
1988 Charles Thibault
Ernest John Christopher Polge
United Kingdom
for pioneering work in reproductive physiology including cell preservation, fertilization processes, egg biology and embryo manipulations for domestic animal improvement.
1989 Peter M. Biggs
Michael Elliott
United Kingdom
United Kingdom
for distinguished contributions to basic science and its successful translation into practice in the fields of animal health and crop protection.
1990 Jozef Stefaan Schell Belgium for his pioneering work in genetic transformation of plants, thereby opening up new horizons in basic plant science and breeding.
1991 Shang Fa Yang Taiwan / United States for his remarkable contributions to the understanding of the mechanism of biosynthesis, mode of action and applications of the plant hormone, Ethylene.
1992 No award
1993 John E. Casida United States for his pioneering studies on the mode of action of insecticides, design of safer pesticides and contributions to the understanding of nerve and muscle function in insects.
1994/5 Carl B. Huffaker
Perry L. Adkisson
United States
United States
for their contributions to the development and implementation of environmentally beneficial integrated pest management systems for the protection of agricultural crops.
1995/6 Morris Schnitzer
Frank J. Stevenson
United States
for their pioneering contributions to our understanding of the chemistry of soil organic matter and its application to agriculture.
1996/7 Neal L. First United States for his pioneering research in the reproductive biology of livestock.
1998 Ilan Chet
Baldur R. Stefansson
for their contributions to the environmentally safe development of world agriculture through innovative approaches in breeding and bio-control.
1999 No award
2000 Gurdev Khush India for his extraordinary contribution to theoretical research in plant genetics, evolution and breeding especially of rice, with regard to food production and alleviation of hunger.
2001 Roger N. Beachy
James E. Womack
United States
United States
for the use of recombinant DNA technology, to revolutionize plant and animal sciences, paving the way for applications to neighboring fields.
2002/3 R. Michael Roberts
Fuller W. Bazer
United Kingdom / United States;
United States
for discoveries of Interferon tau and other pregnancy-associated proteins, which clarified the biological mystery of signaling between embryo and mother to maintain pregnancy, with profound effects on the efficiency of animal production systems, as well as human health and well-being.
2004 Yuan Longping
Steven D. Tanksley
United States
for innovative development of hybrid rice and discovery of the genetic basis of heterosis in this important food staple.
2005 No award
2006/7 Ronald L. Phillips
Michel A. J. Georges
United States
for groundbreaking discoveries in genetics and genomics, laying the foundations for improvements in crop and livestock breeding, and sparking important advances in plant and animal sciences.
2008 John A. Pickett
James H. Tumlinson
W. Joe Lewis
United Kingdom
United States
United States
for their remarkable discoveries of mechanisms governing plant-insect and plant-plant interactions. Their scientific contributions on chemical ecology have fostered the development of integrated pest management and significantly advanced agricultural sustainability.
2009 No award
2010 David Baulcombe United Kingdom for his pioneering discovery of gene regulation by small inhibitory RNA molecules in plants, which is of profound importance not only for agriculture, but also for biology as a whole, including the field of medicine.
2011 Harris A. Lewin United States for highly significant discoveries, that contribute to both fundamental and practical aspects of animal agriculture.
James R. Cook United States for seminal discoveries in plant pathology and soil microbiology that impact crop productivity and disease management.
2012 No award

Read more about this topic:  Wolf Prize In Agriculture

Other articles related to "laureates, laureate":

Nobel Laureate Meetings At Lindau - Aim and Structure
... The aim of the Lindau Meetings is to foster the interactions between Nobel Laureates and young researchers ... Typical meetings are attended by around 30 laureates and on the order of 600 young researchers ... The predominant types of events are presentations given by the laureates in the framework of plenary sessions, and seminars, closed meetings between laureates and young scientists, throughout ...
List Of Nobel Laureates Affiliated With King's College London - Laureates
... Year Image Laureate Relation Category Rationale 1917 Barkla, Charles GloverCharles Glover Barkla Professor of Physics, 1909–1913 Physics "for his discovery of the characteristic Röntgen radiation of the ...
Columba College - Notable Alumni
... In November 2007, Columba College inaugurated the first laureates into their Business Hall of Fame ... These laureates were Miranda Caird - mortgage broker Amanda Ellis - World Bank gender specialist Sue Stevely-Cole - early childhood centre director The Business ...
List Of Nobel Laureates Affiliated With The University Of Pennsylvania
... As of 2013, there have been 28 laureates affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania, 8 alone in the last 10 years ... The University of Pennsylvania considers laureates who attended the university as undergraduate students, graduate students or were members of the faculty as affiliated laureates ... professor in physiological chemistry, was the first University of Pennsylvania laureate, winning the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1922 ...
Montreal International Musical Competition - Editions - 2009 - Laureates
... Laureates of the 2008 Montreal International Musical Competition Rank Competitor Country First Angela Meade United States Second Andrew Garland United States ...