Wołomin County

Wołomin County (Polish: powiat wołomiński) is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in Masovian Voivodeship, east-central Poland. It came into being on January 1, 1999, as a result of the Polish local government reforms passed in 1998. Its administrative seat and largest town is Wołomin, which lies 22 kilometres (14 mi) north-east of Warsaw. The county contains six other towns: Ząbki, 11 km (7 mi) south-west of Wołomin, Marki, 10 km (6 mi) west of Wołomin, Kobyłka, 3 km (2 mi) south-west of Wołomin, Zielonka, 8 km (5 mi) south-west of Wołomin, Radzymin, 9 km (6 mi) north-west of Wołomin, and Tłuszcz, 18 km (11 mi) north-east of Wołomin.

The county covers an area of 955.37 square kilometres (368.9 sq mi). As of 2006 its total population is 202,444, out of which the population of Wołomin is 36,711, that of Ząbki is 24,422, that of Marki is 23,376, that of Kobyłka is 17,897, that of Zielonka is 17,180, that of Radzymin is 7,864, that of Tłuszcz is 7,283, and the rural population is 67,711.

Read more about Wołomin CountyNeighbouring Counties, Administrative Division

Other articles related to "county":

Wołomin County - Administrative Division
... The county is subdivided into 12 gminas (four urban, three urban-rural and five rural) ... Gmina Type Area Population Seat Gmina Wołomin urban-rural 59.5 49,509 Wołomin Ząbki urban 11.1 24,422 Marki urban 26.0 23,376 Gmina Radzymin urban-rural 130.9 19,129 ...
Laskowizna, Wołomin County
... in the administrative district of Gmina Poświętne, within Wołomin County, Masovian Voivodeship, in east-central Poland ...

Famous quotes containing the word county:

    Hold hard, my county darlings, for a hawk descends,
    Golden Glamorgan straightens, to the falling birds.
    Your sport is summer as the spring runs angrily.
    Dylan Thomas (1914–1953)