Wirral Peninsula

Wirral Peninsula

Wirral or the Wirral /ˈwɪrəl/ is a peninsula in North West England. It is bounded to the west by the River Dee, forming a boundary with Wales, to the east by the River Mersey and to the north by the Irish Sea. Both terms "Wirral" and "the Wirral" are used locally (and interchangeably), although the merits of each form are debated. People from Wirral are called Wirralians, which is also the name of a local rugby union club.

The roughly rectangular peninsula is about 15 miles (24 km) long and 7 miles (11 km) wide. Under the Local Government Act 1972 the northern part is the Metropolitan Borough of Wirral in Merseyside. The southern part is now administered under Cheshire West and Chester. Historically part of Cheshire, the Wirral's boundary with the rest of Cheshire was officially "Two arrow falls from Chester City Walls", according to the Domesday Book. Under that definition, places such as Ledsham, Puddington and Saughall would be part of Wirral. The peninsula has also been a hundred.

Read more about Wirral PeninsulaOrigin of The Name, Geography, Landmarks, Accents and Dialects, Wirral in Literature, Notable People, Television and Film, Transport

Other articles related to "wirral peninsula, wirral":

Wirral Peninsula - Sports - Watersports
... Hoylake, in north west Wirral is one of the premier European land sailing (sand yachting) sites, and was host to the week-long European Championships in ... West Kirby, in north west Wirral has a Marine Lake for windsurfing, sailing and sea kayaking and hosts the international Wilson Trophy sailing competition ...