Volvo Masters

The Volvo Masters was the concluding official money event of the European Tour season until 2009, when it was replaced by the Dubai World Championship. The event was founded in 1988 and, except for a five-year period between 1997 and 2001, was always held at Valderrama Golf Club in Andalusia, Spain.

The tournament reverted to its original name of "Volvo Masters" in 2005, having been known as the "Volvo Masters Andalucia" between 2000 and 2003 for sponsorship reasons. The prize money for the inaugural event was £351,690, and by 2008, this had increased to over €4 million, making it one of the richest events on the tour. The field consists of the top 60 leading money winners on the European Tour, and from 2005, an invitation has also been issued to the previous years winner regardless of their standing on the money list.

Prior to 2007, the Volvo Masters was held one week before the Tour Championship to allow golfers who are members of both the European and PGA Tours to participate, but this changed after the PGA Tour rescheduled their event to mid-September.

Following a one year absence from the calendar, Valderama returned to the European Tour schedule in 2010 with the Andalucía Valderrama Masters under the sponsorship of Turismo Andaluz (Andalucia Government Tourism Organization).

Read more about Volvo MastersWinners

Other articles related to "volvo masters, masters, volvo":

Zhang Lianwei - Professional Wins (18) - Other Wins (5)
... 1995 (2) Volvo Masters of Malaysia, Volvo Masters of Thailand 1996 (2) Volvo Masters of Malaysia, Volvo Masters of Thailand 1998 (1) Hong Kong PGA Championship ...
Colin Montgomerie - Golfing Record - European Tour Wins (31)
... strokes Rodger Davis, Manuel Moreno, Mike Smith 4 ... Aug 1991 Scandinavian Masters –18 (68-65-70-67=270) 1 stroke Seve Ballesteros 25 ... Jul 1993 Heineken Dutch Open –7 (68-73-71-69=281) 1 stroke José C ... (69-71-64-65=269) 1 stroke Niclas Fasth Montgomerie and Langer agreed to share the 2002 Volvo Masters Andalucia, after failing light caused play to halt after two holes of a playoff ... Montgomerie came first in the Volvo Bonus Pool every year from 1993 to 1998 ...
Volvo Masters - Winners
... Year Winner Country Score Volvo Masters 2008 Søren Kjeldsen Denmark 276 (−8) 2007 Justin Rose England 283 (−1)PO 2006 Jeev Milkha Singh ...

Famous quotes containing the word masters:

    Where are Elmer, Herman, Bert, Tom and Charley,
    The weak of will, the strong of arm, the clown, the boozer, the
    All, all, are sleeping on the hill.
    —Edgar Lee Masters (1869–1950)