Under Wraps (Jethro Tull Album)

Under Wraps (Jethro Tull album)

Under Wraps is the 15th studio album by the band Jethro Tull, released in 1984. The songs' subject matter is heavily influenced by bandleader Ian Anderson's love of espionage fiction.

The original 1984 release had 11 tracks, with "Astronomy," "Tundra," "Automotive Engineering," and "General Crossing" appearing on cassette only. Of these extra tracks, "General Crossing" became the first Jethro Tull track never to be released on vinyl, as "Astronomy," "Tundra," and "Automotive Engineering" all appeared on the 12 inch single release of "Lap Of Luxury". More recent editions of the CD album carry all 15 tracks, and the 2005 enhanced CD also contains a QuickTime video for "Lap Of Luxury".

It was controversial amongst Tull fans due to its 1980s electronic/synth-pop sound and Dave Pegg has been quoted as saying that the tracks cut from Broadsword and the Beast would have made a better album.

This is the only Jethro Tull album where the majority of songs were co-written with band members, primarily Peter-John Vettese. Usually Ian Anderson is the sole songwriter.

This is also the only Jethro Tull album that features no live drummer at all. After the recording Doane Perry joined the band on tour and became their permanent drummer.

The album was recorded in the spring of 1984 in Ian Anderson's home studio.

Read more about Under Wraps (Jethro Tull album):  Credits