Tropical Storm Bavi

The name Bavi has been used to name two tropical cyclones in the western north Pacific Ocean. The name was contributed by Vietnam and refers to a mountain chain in northern Viet Nam.

  • Typhoon Bavi (2002) (T0222, 26W)
  • Tropical Storm Bavi (2008) (T0818, 23W)

Other articles related to "tropical, tropical storm bavi, tropical storm, bavi":

Timeline Of The 2008 Pacific Typhoon Season - Timeline - October
13 0000 UTC, (0800 UTC+8) – The JMA reports that a tropical depression has formed about 400 km (250 mi), to the southeast of Hà Nội in Vietnam. 0600 UTC, (1400 UTC+8) – The CMA starts to monitor the tropical depression. 1200 UTC, (2000 UTC+8) – The JTWC designates the tropical depression, as Tropical Depression 22W ...
2008 Pacific Typhoon Season - Storms - Tropical Storm Bavi
... Tropical storm (JMA) Tropical storm (SSHS) Duration October 18 – October 21 Peak intensity 85 km/h (50 mph) 992 mbar (hPa) On October 18 an area of low pressure well to the southeast of Japan quickly ... Bavi strengthened to gain 50 mph (80 km/h) winds, but transitioned into an extra-tropical cyclone on 21 October, while still well to the east of Japan ...

Famous quotes containing the words tropical and/or storm:

    Physical force has no value, where there is nothing else. Snow in snow-banks, fire in volcanoes and solfataras is cheap. The luxury of ice is in tropical countries, and midsummer days. The luxury of fire is, to have a little on our hearth; and of electricity, not the volleys of the charged cloud, but the manageable stream on the battery-wires. So of spirit, or energy; the rests or remains of it in the civil and moral man, are worth all the cannibals in the Pacific.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Why now, blow wind, swell billow, and swim bark!
    The storm is up, and all is on the hazard.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)