Trinity (University of Western Australia)

Trinity (University Of Western Australia)

The University of Western Australia (UWA) was established by an Act of the Western Australian Parliament in February 1911, and began teaching students for the first time in 1913. It is the oldest university in the state of Western Australia and the only university in the state to be a member of the Group of Eight, as well as the sandstone universities. UWA was established under and is governed by the University of Western Australia Act 1911. The Act provides for control and management by the university's Senate, and gives it the authority, amongst other things, to make statutes, regulations and by-laws, details of which are contained in the university Calendar. One of Australia's best and most prestigious universities, UWA is highly ranked internationally in various publications; the 2011 QS World University Rankings placed UWA at 79th internationally. To date UWA has produced close to 100 Rhodes Scholars and a Nobel Prize winner. UWA recently joined the Matariki Network of Universities as the youngest member, the only one established during the 20th century.

Read more about Trinity (University Of Western Australia):  History, Faculties, Campus, Students, Internationalisation, Research Strength and Rankings, Student Guild, University Events, Sport, Notable Alumni, Press, Presence in Second Life, Gallery, See Also

Other related articles:

Trinity (University Of Western Australia) - See Also
... Group of Eight List of University of Western Australia people List of official openings by Elizabeth II in Australia Prosh Rindos affair Rindos v Hardwick Rural Clinical School of Western Australia UWA Telerobot. ...

Famous quotes containing the words western and/or trinity:

    Writers, you know, are the beggars of Western society.
    Octavio Paz (b. 1914)

    Nature is so perfect that the Trinity couldn’t have fashioned her any more perfect. She is an organ on which our Lord plays and the devil works the bellows.
    Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe (1749–1832)