Thousand Cranes

Thousand Cranes (千羽鶴, Senbazuru?) is a 1952 novel by Japanese author Yasunari Kawabata. The novel is divided into five episodes: "Thousand Cranes", "A Grove in the Evening Sun", "Figured Shino", "Her Mother's Lipstick" and "Double Star".

Read more about Thousand CranesPlot, Themes, Reception

Other articles related to "thousand cranes":

Yasunari Kawabata - Artistic Career
... Kawabata's success continued with novels such as Thousand Cranes (a story of ill-fated love) The Sound of the Mountain The House of the Sleeping Beauties Beauty and Sadness and The Old Capital ... two most important post-war works are Sembazuru (Thousand Cranes) from 1949 to 1951, and Yama no Oto (The Sound of the Mountain), 1949–1954 ... Committee cited three of his novels, Snow Country, Thousand Cranes, and The Old Capital ...
Thousand Cranes - Reception
... The Scarlet Gang of Asakusa Snow Country The Master of Go Thousand Cranes The Sound of the Mountain The Lake The House of the Sleeping Beauties The Old Capital Beauty and Sadness One Arm Palm-of-the-Ha. 1709-1725) Botchan (1906) Thousand Cranes (1952) Chinese Complete Works of Chuang Tzu (4th century BCE) Bengali Pather Panchali (1929) Jagari (1946) Spanish ...

Famous quotes containing the words cranes and/or thousand:

    Where has it all gone? I remember that twenty years ago there were geese and cranes and ducks and grouse here, clouds of them!... And there are far fewer animals. Wolf and fox are rare, brother, not to mention bears or mink. There used even to be moose!
    Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (1860–1904)

    The thousand sordid images
    Of which your soul was constituted;
    —T.S. (Thomas Stearns)