The Mission (British Band)

The Mission - known as The Mission UK in the United States, due to a naming clash with a Philadelphia R&B band - are a gothic rock band formed in 1986 by former members of The Sisters of Mercy.

Initially known as The Sisterhood, the band was started by frontman Wayne Hussey and bassist Craig Adams (both from the Sisters of Mercy), soon adding drummer Mick Brown (Red Lorry Yellow Lorry) and guitarist Simon Hinkler (Artery and Pulp). Aside from Hussey, the line-up has changed several times during the years.

The band's catalogue consists of nine main albums (God's Own Medicine, The First Chapter, Children, Carved in Sand, Masque, Neverland, Blue, Aura and God is a Bullet) with several complementing albums, compilations and other miscellaneous releases also in existence.

Other related articles:

The Mission (British Band) - Discography - Studio Albums
... God's Own Medicine (1986) The First Chapter (1987) Children (1988) Carved in Sand (January 1990) Grains of Sand (November 1990) Masque (1992) Neverland (1995) Blue (1996) Aura (2001) God is a Bullet (2007) Dum Dum Bullet (2010). ...

Famous quotes containing the word mission:

    It is the mission of the twentieth century to elucidate the irrational.
    Maurice Merleau-Ponty (1907–1961)