The House On The Cliff

The House On The Cliff is the second book in the original The Hardy Boys Mystery Stories published by Grosset & Dunlap. The book ranks 72nd on the Publishers Weekly's All-Time Bestselling Children's Book List in the United States with 1,712,433 copies sold as of 2001. This book is one of the "Original 10" Hardy Boys books and is an excellent example of the writing style used by the Stratemeyer Syndicate's writers. This style influenced many other "youth adventure series" books that the Stratemeyer Syndicate also published, including the Nancy Drew series (designed as a corollary to The Hardy Boys written from the perspective of young girls). the Tom Swift adventure series, the Bobbsey Twins and other lesser known series. All of them used a unique writing style that made the very recognizable as Stratemeyer product.

This book was written for the Stratemeyer Syndicate by Leslie McFarlane in 1927. Between 1959 and 1973 the first 38 volumes of this series were systematically revised as part of a project directed by Harriet Adams, Edward Stratemeyer's daughter. The original version of this book was rewritten in 1959 by Harriet S. Adams resulting in two different stories with the same title.

Read more about The House On The Cliff:  Plot Summary (revised Edition), Mistakes On The Cover Illustration, Alternative Version

Other articles related to "the house on the cliff, the house on the":

The House On The Cliff - Alternative Version
... Martin's Minotaur published The House On The Point, an homage to "The House on the Cliff" by Benjamin Hoff ...

Famous quotes containing the words cliff and/or house:

    Just under the surface I shall be, all together at first, then separate and drift, through all the earth and perhaps in the end through a cliff into the sea, something of me.
    Samuel Beckett (1906–1989)

    The farmhouse lingers, though averse to square
    With the new city street it has to wear
    A number in. But what about the brook
    That held the house as in an elbow-crook?
    Robert Frost (1874–1963)