The Edwardian Country House - Episodes


Title Original airdate (UK) Running Time Episode
"Upstairs Downstairs" April 23, 2002 50mins 1x01
Day one at Manderston and 13 of the volunteers arrive. To help them through the three months ahead of life in the Edwardian Era, they have a rule book outlining their roles and positions in the rigid upstairs-downstairs hierarchy. A Hampshire family has been chosen to live as the masters of the house. The nine-year-old son is especially pleased to find he has people to order about. However not everyone is satisfied. A week in, there is already a situation vacant in the house.
"Getting up to Scratch" April 30, 2002 50mins 1x02
At a time when industrial and commercial wealth was only just being accepted into the ranks of high society, it was crucial for a nouveau riche family like the Olliff-Coopers to hold and improve their position at the top. In episode two Sir John and Lady Olliff-Cooper set about using their new assets, including their country house, their male servants and their French chef, to maximum affect in that most powerful social weapon - the dinner party. The family is settling in to their new luxurious lifestyle. Lady Olliff-Cooper feels like a child again. Mister Jonathan and Master Guy are learning to talk to people 50 years their senior while 'looking down their noses' and Sir John is wishing modern society was a little more like it is at Manderston. Downstairs there is some jostling for position going on. There is a new scullery maid - Kelly Squire and she is not enjoying the job much more than her predecessor.
"The Servants' Revolt" May 7, 2002 50mins 1x03
The atmosphere in the Edwardian Country House is tense as our 19 volunteers continue to come to terms with their new Edwardian lives. Upstairs plans are afoot to host a fund-raising fête in the gardens to help the local hospital. But the benevolent masters of Manderston may be missing hardships closer to home. Amongst the staff there are serious complaints about working hours and living conditions. Without time off, they feel they cannot go on. The chef takes matters into his own hands and, breaking all the rules, he takes the two ladies of the house on a tour of conditions downstairs. The mistress of the house takes immediate action. Two new maids are hired, but will it be enough to curb the swell of working class militancy below stairs?
"Cold Comfort" May 14, 2002 50mins 1x04
Hunting, shooting and fishing were the mainstay of country house life and the master has no desire to duck out of these Edwardian activities. While the men get back to nature, the women at home begin to question their roles in Edwardian society. Sexual restrictions particularly affect Avril, the unmarried sister of Lady Olliff-Cooper, who has to bear the discomforts of being single and dependent.

The new scullery maid looks like she will have no such problems - already she is the object of the hallboy's affection. But living as they do under the same roof, the relationship must be kept secret if they want to keep their jobs.

"Home and Empire" May 21, 2002 50mins 1x05
The British Empire is at its height and as a celebration of British achievement abroad, the family is to host a glorious fancy-dress Empire Ball. This means dancing practice, the creation of beautiful costumes and more work in the kitchen. For Guy the idea of having a role in the Empire is remote, but his Indian tutor, Mr Raj-Singh, caught between the worlds of upstairs and downstairs, is determined to bring the highs and lows of Imperial power back to life. So, before the Ball, Sir John agrees to allow Reji to organise a 'Raj' night as a celebration of the British in India.

In honour of the guests the hosts will serve a glorious curry supper. At least, that was the plan¿ Chef falls ill and upstairs cannot be asked to postpone. A substitute team of Antonia, Kenny and Ellen must prepare the dinner alone. Monsieur Dubiard gives instructions from his sick bed taking them through grinding the spices, cooking the breads and making the bhajis. Contemporary thinkers including Yasmin Alibhai-Brown and Darcus Howe arrive at the house to challenge the jingoistic celebrations and to question the system of command, control and hierarchy within the house. As the glittering Ball gets under way, how long can power remain concentrated in the hands of the few?

"Winners and Losers" May 28, 2002 50mins 1x06
Emotions are running high in Manderston as the cast's Edwardian life is drawing to a close and everyone has to face up to going back to his or her normal life in the 21st century. After three months exposure to nothing but Edwardian culture the family and staff consider what their Edwardian future might have been. A servants' ball brings the family and the staff in direct contact on the staff's home ground. This proves an uncomfortable experience for Sir John who is beginning to realise that the apparent deference of his servants may only have been surface deep. As they leave the house, tears of joy and sadness flow and we get our first glimpse of the cast in modern dress. The hierarchy is no more and it is hard to see these confident young people allowing it to return. For upstairs as well as down, a way of life at Manderston is coming to an end.

Read more about this topic:  The Edwardian Country House

Other articles related to "episodes, episode":

List Of Hercules: The Legendary Journeys Episodes
... The following is a list of episodes from Hercules The Legendary Journeys, a television series, filmed in New Zealand and the United States, starring Kevin Sorbo ... It ran for 111 episodes over six seasons ...
Zone Fighter - Characters - Terro-Beasts
... Red Spark (Episode 1) Jikiro (Episodes 1, 22, 25) Destro-King (Episodes 2 and 12) Dorola (Episode 3) Wagilar (Episode 4) Spyler (Episodes 4 and 12) Dragon King (Episodes 7 and 12) Gilmoras (Episode 7) Gellderah (E ... Gigan appears in Episode 11 ... defeated by Godzilla, but after reviving he is killed by Zone Fighter at the end of the episode ...
Karl Urban - Filmography - Television
... Notes 1990 Shark in the Park Rohann Murdoch 6 episodes 1992 Homeward Bound Tim Johnstone 1993 White Fang David 1 episode "Tough Kid" 1993 Shortland Street Paramedic Jamie Forrest 1995 ...
Dragnet (series) - Episodes - 1989 Television Series
... A total of 52 episodes were aired over two seasons ... The first 26 episodes aired between October 24, 1989 and January 21, 1990, with the second season, also containing 26 episodes, airing between April 19 and September 9 ...
Orson Bean - Filmography
... Notes 1952 Broadway Television Theatre Erwin Throwbridge Episodes Three Men on a Horse, Nothing but the Truth 1952 Westinghouse Studio One Harvey B ... Hines Episode The Square Peg 1954 The Blue Angel Host I believe that the Blue Angel you list was a night club in New York City where Mr Bean performed. 1954 Robert Montgomery Presents unknown Episode It Happened in Paris 1954 Westinghouse Studio One Joey Episode Joey 1955 The Best of Broadway Mortimer Brewster Episode Arsenic and Old Lace 1955 The Elgin ...

Famous quotes containing the word episodes:

    What is a novel if not a conviction of our fellow-men’s existence strong enough to take upon itself a form of imagined life clearer than reality and whose accumulated verisimilitude of selected episodes puts to shame the pride of documentary history?
    Joseph Conrad (1857–1924)

    Twenty or thirty years ago, in the army, we had a lot of obscure adventures, and years later we tell them at parties, and suddenly we realize that those two very difficult years of our lives have become lumped together into a few episodes that have lodged in our memory in a standardized form, and are always told in a standardized way, in the same words. But in fact that lump of memories has nothing whatsoever to do with our experience of those two years in the army and what it has made of us.
    Václav Havel (b. 1936)