The Capital Region (Denmark)

The Capital Region (Denmark)

Coordinates: 55°40′N 12°24′E / 55.66°N 12.4°E / 55.66; 12.4

The Capital Region (Danish: Hovedstadsregionen) was the administrative name of the municipalities of Copenhagen and Frederiksberg and the counties of Frederiksborg and Roskilde. It was replaced by the Capital Region of Denmark (Danish: Region Hovedstaden) as an administrative region on January 1, 2007 as part of the 2007 Danish Municipal Reform.

The new region includes the island of Bornholm (in the Baltic Sea 100 nautical miles from Copenhagen) and excludes the south-west parts of greater Copenhagen.

Read more about The Capital Region (Denmark):  Composition

Other related articles:

The Capital Region (Denmark) - Composition
... In 2007 the Capital Region had a population of 1,834,492 and an area of 2,861.41 km². ...

Famous quotes containing the words capital and/or region:

    Capital as such is not evil; it is its wrong use that is evil. Capital in some form or other will always be needed.
    Mohandas K. Gandhi (1869–1948)

    America lives in the heart of every man everywhere who wishes to find a region where he will be free to work out his destiny as he chooses.
    Woodrow Wilson (1856–1924)