Roman Constitution
  • Constitution of the Kingdom
  • Constitution of the Republic
  • Constitution of the Empire
  • Constitution of the Late Empire
  • History of the Constitution
  • Senate
  • Legislative Assemblies
  • Executive Magistrates
Ordinary Magistrates
  • Consul
  • Praetor
  • Quaestor
  • Promagistrate
  • Aedile
  • Tribune
  • Censor
  • Governor
Extraordinary Magistrates
  • Dictator
  • Magister Equitum
  • Consular tribune
  • Rex
  • Triumviri
  • Decemviri
Titles and Honours
  • Emperor
  • Legatus
  • Dux
  • Officium
  • Praefectus
  • Vicarius
  • Vigintisexviri
  • Lictor
  • Magister militum
  • Imperator
  • Princeps senatus
  • Pontifex Maximus
  • Augustus
  • Caesar
  • Tetrarch
Precedent and Law
  • Roman Law
  • Imperium
  • Mos maiorum
  • Collegiality
  • Roman citizenship
  • Auctoritas
  • Cursus honorum
  • senatus consultum
  • Other countries
  • Atlas

Ancient Rome portal

The term Tetrarchy (Greek: "leadership of four ") describes any form of government where power is divided among four individuals, but in modern usage usually refers to the system instituted by Roman Emperor Diocletian in 293, marking the end of the Crisis of the Third Century and the recovery of the Roman Empire. This Tetrarchy lasted until c.313, when internecine conflict eliminated most of the claimants to power, leaving Constantine in the West and Licinius in the East.

Read more about TetrarchyTerminology, Creation, Regions and Capitals, Public Image, Military Successes, Demise, Legacy, Other Examples

Other articles related to "tetrarchy":

Tetrarchy - Other Examples
... Tetrarchies in the ancient world existed in both Thessaly (in northern Greece) and Galatia (in central Asia Minor including Lycaonia) as well as among the British Cantiaci ... The constellation of Jewish principalities in Roman Palestine was known as a tetrarchy see Tetrarchy (Judea) ...
Portrait Of The Four Tetrarchs - Subject
... The Roman Empire was for a time after 293 ruled by a tetrarchy (a group of four rulers), instituted by Emperor Diocletian ... The tetrarchy consisted of two Augusti (senior emperors) and two Caesars (younger emperors) ... of the Four Tetrarchs symbolizes the concept of the tetrarchy, rather than providing four personal portraits ...
Western Roman Empire - Background - Constantine The Great
... The system of the Tetrarchy quickly ran aground when the Western Roman Empire's Constantius died unexpectedly in 306, and his son Constantine the Great was proclaimed Augustus of the West by the legions in ... of the East, Galerius, arranged a conference at Carnuntum which revived the Tetrarchy by dividing the West between Constantine and a newcomer named Licinius ... The Tetrarchy ended, but the idea of dividing the Roman Empire between two emperors had been validated ...
Abilene (biblical)
... one portion of it was annexed to the tetrarchy of his son Herod Philip II, and the remainder bestowed upon that Lysanias who is named by Luke (iii. 37 AD), Caligula made over to Herod Agrippa, at that time a prisoner in Rome, the tetrarchy of Philip and the tetrarchy of Lysanias, while Claudius, upon his accession (41), not only confirmed the liberality of his ... Lastly, 53, Claudius granted to Agrippa II the tetrarchy of Philip with Batanaea and Trachonitis and Abila – Lusania de hautê egegonei tetrarchia ...