Ten Spiritual Realms

The ten spiritual realms are part of the belief of some forms of Buddhism that there are ten conditions of life which sentient beings are subject to, and which they experience from moment to moment.

The ten spiritual realms are part of Buddhist cosmology and consist of four higher realms and six lower realms. Some schools of Buddhism see them as being external, ten different planes of existence beings can be born into, whilst others see them as states of mind that can be shifted between due to external and internal influences. The following is a description of the ten realms as mental states.

Read more about Ten Spiritual RealmsSix Realms of Desire, Four Higher (noble) Realms, Interpenetration of The Ten Realms

Other articles related to "ten spiritual realms, ten, realms":

Ten Spiritual Realms - Interpenetration of The Ten Realms
... Each of the Ten Worlds possesses all Ten Worlds ... The realms are labeled the same by Buddhist sects that see them as planes of existence, the difference being the only way to shift between them is through rebirth ...

Famous quotes containing the words realms, ten and/or spiritual:

    How does Nature deify us with a few and cheap elements! Give me health and a day, and I will make the pomp of emperors ridiculous. The dawn is my Assyria; the sun-set and moon-rise my Paphos, and unimaginable realms of faerie; broad noon shall be my England of the senses and the understanding; the night shall be my Germany of mystic philosophy and dreams.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    A play there is, my lord, some ten words long,
    Which is as brief as I have known a play,
    But by ten words, my lord, it is too long,
    Which makes it tedious.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)

    There is something very solemn in the thought of a great spirit like hers entering the spiritual world which she did not believe in. If we are right in our faith, what a blessed surprise for her!
    Margaret Oliphant (1828–1897)