Sydney Roosters

The Sydney Roosters are an Australian professional rugby league football club based in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney. The club competes in the National Rugby League and is one of the oldest and most successful clubs in Australian rugby league history, having won twelve New South Wales Rugby League and National Rugby League titles, and several other competitions. Only the South Sydney Rabbitohs and the St. George Dragons have won more premierships. The club holds the record for the longest winning streak,the most wins and the second greatest margin of victory in Australian rugby league history. The Roosters are the only team to have played in each and every season at the elite level, and in recent years have also been dubbed as the "glamour club" of the NRL.

The club was founded in 1908 in Paddington, Sydney, under the name Eastern Suburbs; in 1995 the name was changed to the Sydney City Roosters and, in 2000, to simply the Sydney Roosters. The Bondi Junction and Moore Park-based Roosters have a long-standing and fierce rivalry with other Sydney-based clubs, especially the Rabbitohs, a fellow foundation club based in neighbouring Redfern.

Read more about Sydney RoostersHistory, Emblem, Colours, Stadium, Supporters, Statistics and Records, Honours

Other articles related to "sydney roosters, sydney":

History Of The National Rugby League - National Rugby League Premiers
... Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (40 pts) 2000 Brisbane Broncos 14–6 Sydney Roosters Brisbane Broncos (38 pts) 2001 Newcastle Knights 30–24 Parramatta Eels Parramatta Eels (42 pts) 2002 Sydney Roosters 30–8 New ... George Illawarra Dragons 32-8 Sydney Roosters St ...
List Of Dally M Awards Winners - 2010
... Player of the Year Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters) Fullback Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra) Winger Akuila Uate (Newcastle) Centre Jamie Lyon (Manly-Warringah) Five-eig ...
Liam Foran - Sydney Roosters
... After leaving the Warriors, Foran joined the Newtown Jets ... He then signed for the Jets' parent club, the Sydney Roosters, for the 2010 season ...
Jersey Flegg Cup - Jersey Flegg Premiers
... Year Premiers 1961 Manly-Warringah 1962 South Sydney 1963 Canterbury-Bankstown 1964 South Sydney 1965 Western Suburbs 1966 South Sydney 1967 South Sydney 1968 South Sydney 1969 South Sydney 1970 Parramatta ... George 1976 Canterbury-Bankstown 1977 Penrith 1978 South Sydney 1979 Canterbury-Bankstown 1980 Balmain 1981 Balmain 1982 Balmain 1983 Canterbury-Bankstown 1984 Balmain ... George 1997 Balmain 1998 North Sydney 1999 Canterbury-Bankstown 2000 Canterbury-Bankstown 2001 Canterbury-Bankstown 2002 Sydney Roosters 2003 Canterbury-Bankstown 2004 ...
List Of Sydney Roosters Records - Individual Club Records - Other Notable Achievements By The Sydney Roosters or Their Players
... Cup final 43 points (43-0) versus South Sydney - 1974 Biggest winning margin in a World Club Challenge final 38 points (38-0) versus St Helens - 2003 ... Home Grounds Royal Agricultural Society Ground Sydney Sports Ground Sydney Football Stadium Culture Royal Agricultural Society Shield Club ANZAC ... Ball Cup Harold Matthews Cup Past Amco Cup Jersey Flegg Cup New South Wales Cup Affiliations Sydney Roosters Juniors Newtown Jets ...

Famous quotes containing the word sydney:

    A straw vote only shows which way the hot air blows.
    O. Henry [William Sydney Porter] (1862–1910)