State Assembly Elections in India, 2009 - Haryana


In the Haryana assembly elections, 2009 Indian National Congress could not get majority.

SN Party No. of candidates No. of elected No. of votes %
1 Indian National Congress 90 40 35.08
3 Independents 7 13.16
4 Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) 87 6 7.40
2 Indian National Lok Dal 88 31 25.79
5 Bharatiya Janata Party 90 4 9.04
6 Bahujan Samaj Party 86 1 6.73
6 Shiromani Akali Dal 2 1 0.98
Total: 1222 90 100

In a 90 members Haryana assembly Congress won 40 seats, 5 short of simple majority.

In 2009 vidhan sabha elections, Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) emerged winner on following six seats.

  • Adampur - Kuldeep
  • Assandh - Jile Ram
  • Charkhi Dadri - Satpal Sangwan
  • Hansi - Vinod Bhayana
  • Narnaul - Rao Narender Singh
  • Samalkha - Dharam Singh Chhokar

All 5 MLAs from above list left HJC and joined Indian national Congress with a merger, thus leaving Kuldeep as single legislator of the Party in haryana Vidhan Sabha.

Thus congress achieved a simple majority.
Independents members also gave support to congress to form stable government.

Read more about this topic:  State Assembly Elections In India, 2009

Other articles related to "haryana":

Copper Hoard Culture
... These are deposited in the Kanya Gurukul museum in Narela/Haryana ... Four regional find-groups are identifiable South Haryana/North Rajasthan, the Ganges/Jamuna plain, Chota Nagpur und Madhya Pradesh, with their characteristic find-types ... Characteristic hoard finds from South Haryana/North Rajasthan include flat axes, harpoons, double axes, swords with so-called antenna grips and others ...
Haryana - Health
... Haryana Civil Medical Services (HCMS) NRHM, National Rural Health Mission. ...
Sampat Singh - Family
... He is the youngest playerin haryana who has received "Bhim Award" ... Gaurav Singh was Indian Youth Congress president from district Hisar in Haryana and is a active member in Haryana congress politics ...