Stargate Atlantis (season 5)

Stargate Atlantis (season 5)

The fifth season of the military science fiction television series Stargate Atlantis commenced airing on the Sci Fi Channel in the United States on July 11, 2008, concluded on the same channel on January 9, 2009, and contained 20 episodes. The show itself is a spin off of its sister show, Stargate SG-1. The season upgrades previous supporting characters cast members such as Richard Woolsey (from Stargate SG-1) and Jennifer Keller. Amanda Tapping's character Samantha Carter was downgraded to recurring character in this season. The fifth season is about a military-science expedition team fighting against the Wraith from their base of operation, Atlantis. The Wraith primary goal is to gather a fleet to invade Atlantis and find their new "feeding ground", Earth.

The one-hour premiere "Search and Rescue", which aired on July 11, 2008, received 1.3 in Nielsen household ratings, in contrast a "Big" increase from the previous season ratings. The series was developed by Brad Wright and Robert C. Cooper, who also served as executive producers. Season five regular cast members include Joe Flanigan, Robert Picardo, Jewel Staite, Jason Momoa, Rachel Luttrell, and David Hewlett. Stargate Atlantis was originally planned to be continued by a two-hour movie entitled Stargate: Extinction but executive producer Brad Wright has announced that the film has been permanently shelved.

Read more about Stargate Atlantis (season 5):  Cast and Characters, Main Cast, Episodes, DVD Releases

Other articles related to "stargate atlantis season 5, season 5":

Stargate Atlantis (season 5) - DVD Releases
... DVD Name Region 1 Region 2 Region 4 Stargate Atlantis Season 5Season 5June 30,2009 May 11,2009 July 29,2009 Season 5Volume 1 May 11,2009 Season 5Volume 2 May 25,2009 ...

Famous quotes containing the word atlantis:

    Herman Melville was as separated from a civilized literature as the lost Atlantis was said to have been from the great peoples of the earth.
    Edward Dahlberg (1900–1977)