Stamford (UK Parliament Constituency)

Stamford (UK Parliament Constituency)

Stamford was a constituency in the county of Lincolnshire of the House of Commons for the Parliament of England to 1706 then of the Parliament of Great Britain from 1707 to 1800 and of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1801 to 1918. It was represented by two Members of Parliament until 1868 when this was reduced to one.

Read more about Stamford (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries, History

Other related articles:

Stamford (UK Parliament Constituency) - Members of Parliament - MPs 1868–1918
... Election Member Party 1868 Sir John Charles Dalrymple Hay, Bt Conservative 1880 Marston Clarke Buszard Liberal 1885 Borough constituency abolished ... Name transferred to county division 1885 John Compton Lawrance Conservative 1890 by-election Henry John Cockayne Cust Conservative 1895 William Younger Conservative 1906 Lord John Joicey-Cecil Conservative 1910 Claud Heathcote-Drummond-Willoughby Conservative 1918 constituency abolished Notes ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    Undershaft: Alcohol is a very necessary article. It heals the sick—Barbara: It does nothing of the sort. Undershaft: Well, it assists the doctor: that is perhaps a less questionable way of putting it. It makes life bearable to millions of people who could not endure their existence if they were quite sober. It enables Parliament to do things at eleven at night that no sane person would do at eleven in the morning.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)