Stalinist Architecture

Stalinist architecture (Russian: ста́линский ампи́р – Stalin's Empire style or Russian: ста́линский неоренесса́нс – Stalin's Neo-renaissance), also referred to as Stalinist Gothic, or Socialist Classicism, is a term given to architecture of the Soviet Union under the leadership of Joseph Stalin, between 1933, when Boris Iofan's draft for Palace of the Soviets was officially approved, and 1955, when Nikita Khrushchev condemned "excesses" of the past decades and disbanded the Soviet Academy of Architecture. Stalinist architecture is associated with the socialist realism school of art and architecture.

Read more about Stalinist ArchitectureFeatures, Background (1900–1931), The Beginning (1931–1933), Post-War (1944–1950), Regional Varieties, Attempts To Decrease Costs (1948–1955), The End of Stalinist Architecture (November 1955), Legacy and Revival

Other articles related to "stalinist architecture, stalinist, architecture":

Stalinist Architecture - Legacy and Revival
... of Russia", can be traced to Stalin's legacy, while the Neo-Stalinist regime in Romania produced a vast, late example of the style in its Palace of the Parliament ... Moscow is one of the most prominent buildings, with a silhouette identical to the Stalinist constructions ... classified as neoclassical, yet related to early Stalinist buildings GALS Tower (Cистема ГАЛС, 2001) by a team of Workshop 14 architects ...
Russian Architecture - Postwar Soviet Union
... See also Postconstructivism Stalinist architecture put a premium on conservative monumentalism ... In general, Stalinist architecture changed the appearance of many post-war cities much survives to this day in central avenues and public buildings ... rocked the country construction priorities and architecture were also affected ...

Famous quotes containing the word architecture:

    Defaced ruins of architecture and statuary, like the wrinkles of decrepitude of a once beautiful woman, only make one regret that one did not see them when they were enchanting.
    Horace Walpole (1717–1797)