St Ninian's High School, Douglas

St Ninian's High School, Douglas

St. Ninian's High School (Manx Gaelic: Schoill Ard Noo Ninian) is a secondary school located in Douglas and Onchan, on the Isle of Man. The School is set over two different sites, catering for different year groups.

The Lower School: 'Bemahague' opened in 2012 and is located in Onchan. The lower school caters for years seven to nine. Previously the lower school was located in Park Road, Central Douglas (opened in 1894) and catered for students in years seven and eight with year nine students being taught at the upper school until 2012. The Upper School: 'St. Ninian's' built in 1924 is in Outer Douglas. The Upper School is based on the older students in years ten to eleven; as well as containing the school's Sixth Form centre. St. Ninian's High School was formed in the early eighties after a review took place of secondary education in Douglas. The reasons for the construction of the new school in Onchan were because the Park Road site was falling into disrepair and space for further expansion was limited. The upper school had also become crowded and had several mobile classrooms which forced the construction of a new school which could take Park Road's former students as well as one year group from the upper school. The Head teacher is Mr Andrew Fox.

Read more about St Ninian's High School, Douglas:  Facilities, Notable Alumni

Famous quotes containing the words douglas and/or high:

    How can I live among this gentle
    absolescent breed of heroes, and not weep?
    Unicorns, almost,
    for they are falling into two legends
    in which their stupidity and chivalry
    are celebrated. Each, fool and herb, will be an immortal.
    —Keith Douglas (1920–1944)

    The best conversation is rare. Society seems to have agreed to treat fictions as realities, and realities as fictions; and the simple lover of truth, especially if on very high grounds, as a religious or intellectual seeker, finds himself a stranger and alien.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)