Serbian Super Liga

Serbian Super Liga

The Serbian SuperLiga (Serbian: Суперлига Србије, Superliga Srbije) is a Serbian professional league for football clubs. At the top of the Serbian football league system, it is the country's primary football competition. It is contested by 16 clubs, operating a system of promotion and relegation with the Serbian First League (Prva liga Srbija, second Serbian football tier). The SuperLiga was formed during summer 2005 as the country's top football league competition in Serbia and Montenegro. Since summer 2006 after the secession of Montenegro from Serbia, the league only has Serbian clubs.

Serbian clubs used to compete in the Yugoslav First League. This competition was formed in 1923 and lasted until 2003. After the downfall of SFR Yugoslavia in 1991 a new Yugoslavia would be formed that would be named FR Yugoslavia with Montenegro and Serbia. They kept the name Yugoslavia until 2003 when the country changed its name to Serbia and Montenegro: this union lasted until 2006 when Montenegro gained independence and formed its own league, the Montenegrin First League.

The current SuperLiga champions are Partizan. UEFA currently ranks the league 25th in Europe of 53 leagues. The league was known as Meridian PrvaLiga/SuperLiga from Autumn 2004 until Summer 2008. The league's current official sponsor is beer maker Jelen pivo, thus resulting in the league's official name to be Jelen SuperLiga.

Read more about Serbian Super Liga:  History, All-time Table 2006–2012, Current Clubs, Stadia, Managers, Records, The Golden Star, Broadcasting Rights, Sponsorship, See Also

Other articles related to "serbian super liga, serbian, liga":

Serbian Super Liga - See Also
... Serbian Cup List of football clubs in Serbia Serbia national football team Yugoslav First League Prva Futsal Liga ...