Scythian Religion - Pantheon


According to Herodotus, the Scythians worshipped a pantheon of seven gods and goddesses (heptad), which he equates with Greek divinities of Classical Antiquity following the interpretatio graeca. He mentions eight deities in particular, the eighth being worshipped by the Royal Scythians, and gives the Scythian names for six of them as follows:

  • Tabiti - Hestia
  • Papaios - Zeus
  • Api - Gaia
  • Oitosyros - Apollo
  • Argimpasa - Aphrodite Urania
  • Thagimasidas - Poseidon

To these, Herodotus adds Heracles and Ares, a god of war (see below).

Read more about this topic:  Scythian Religion

Other articles related to "pantheon":

Manasa - Origins
... (tribal) goddess, Manasa was accepted in the pantheon worshipped by Hindu lower caste groups ... Later, she was included in a higher caste Hindu pantheon, where she is now regarded as a Hindu goddess rather than a tribal one ... identified as the goddess of fertility and marriage rites and was assimilated into the Shaiva pantheon as a relative of Shiva ...
List Of Marvel Comics Characters: J - Jason
... Jason is a member of the super hero family the Pantheon ... Jason defects from the Pantheon when Agamemnon orders him to murder his teammate Ulysses ... The task later fell to Pantheon member Achilles ...
Pantheon, Moscow - See Also
... Pantheon, Rome Palace of Soviets Tatlin's Tower. ...
Saturnalia (PBM) - Setting - Pantheon
... The Saturnalia campaigns shared a common pantheon Corgul God of Law ... Destu God of Darkness ...
The Twilight Reign - The Gods
... Member of the Upper Circle of the Pantheon ... Member of the Upper Circle of the Pantheon ... Member of the Upper Circle of the Pantheon ...

Famous quotes containing the word pantheon:

    Revolution calls my name. I will soon dwell in nothingness, and my name will be in the Pantheon of history.
    Georg Büchner (1813–1837)